Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Allan Saint-Maximin wins North East player of the year award

2 weeks ago

The North East player of the year for 2021 is Allan Saint-Maximin.

The Frenchman edging out Callum Wilson into second.

Allan Saint-Maximin selected for the award by the North East football writers.

Newcastle United official announcement – 13 January 2022:

‘Allan Saint-Maximin is the North East Football Writers’ player of the year for 2021.

The Newcastle United forward narrowly beat team-mate Callum Wilson to the award voted by football journalists in the region, with Middlesbrough’s Paddy McNair in third place.

Saint-Maximin is the 41st winner of the award, joining a list which includes team-mates Fabian Schär, Martin Dúbravka and Jamaal Lascelles and Matt Ritchie, who were joint winners, and former Magpies including Alan Shearer, Shay Given, Fabricio Coloccini, Les Ferdinand, Kevin Keegan and Peter Beardsley.

He joins a long list of French stars who have entertained and guaranteed fans rise from their seats at St James’ Park and has shone, at times, in an often difficult 2021 for Newcastle.

Signed by Steve Bruce in August 2019, the 24-year-old has now made 70 Premier League appearances for the club and scored ten goals.

Durham Women’s Sarah Robson is the women’s player of the year after denying her Championship team-mate Beth Hepple a second win of the award.

The awards, sponsored by William Hill, will be presented on Sunday, 6th March at the Ramside Hall Hotel in Durham and tickets are on sale for an event which was cancelled last year due to the pandemic.

Last year’s main winners – Middlesbrough pair Jonny Howson and Marcus Tavernier and Durham’s Beth Hepple – will receive their awards on the night, as well as Sunderland’s Luke O’Nien, who was named Sir Bobby Foundation personality of the year.

The charity’s personality of 2021 will be announced shortly. The night will also acknowledge Hartlepool’s return to the Football League, Sunderland’s EFL Trophy triumph, as well as Consett and Hebburn’s memorial FA Vase runs, culminating in Consett’s Wembley victory over their Northern League rivals.

The NEFWA also presents the John Fotheringham and Bob Cass awards, in memory of two North East football writing legends, to recognise outstanding contributions to the region’s football.

The NEFWA young player of the year award will be announced next week.’


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks