Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


4 former Newcastle United players make 2020/21 PFA Championship Team of the Year

8 months ago

The 2020/21 PFA Championship Team of the Year has now been announced.

The 11 second tier players voted as the best in their positions this past season, by their fellow professionals.

Interestingly, it includes four former Newcastle United players.

Winning the title, Norwich City dominate the PFA Championship Team of the Year and have six players featuring.

Former Newcastle goalkeeper Tim Krul in great form and making the list, also now back playing for Holland, Krul playing last night in a 2-2 draw with Holland.

Also amongst the Norwich contingent AND former Newcastle United players, defender Grant Hanley named as well in this PFA Championship team of the season.

Both Tim Krul and Grant Hanley set to play in the Euro 2020 finals for Holland and Scotland respectively.

Teemu Pukki is yet another Norwich player to make this PFA Championship Team of the Year, the Canaries striker scoring league goals, the third highest in the division.

That total only beaten by…Ivan Toney with 33 goals (including the play-offs) and Adam Armstrong ending up with 28 goals in the second tier.

The two former youthful strikers now smashing it in the second tier and surely Adam Armstrong as well as Toney (promoted with Brentford) now set to play in the Premier League next season.

The 2020/21 PFA Championship Team of the Year:

Tim Krul (Norwich City); Max Aarons (Norwich City), Ethan Pinnock (Brentford), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Rico Henry (Brentford); Emiliano Buendía (Norwich City), Michael Olise (Reading), Oliver Skipp (Norwich, on loan from Tottenham); Adam Armstrong (Blackburn Rovers), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Teemu Pukki (Norwich City)

Interesting that Watford went up in the other automatic promotion place (along with Norwich) but not a single player selected.


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks