Newsletter

Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!

News

Confirmed Newcastle team v Stoke – Countless players missing 7 days before season starts

2 weeks ago
Share

The new season is fast approaching and the Newcastle team v Stoke has just been named.

After a 3-0 win over Crewe and 2-1 victory over Barnsley, Steve Bruce’s team were hammered 5-1 by Neil Warnock’s Championship team in midweek.

Today’s game sees former Newcastle striker Michael O’Neill bring his Championship side to Tyneside.

Only seven days to go until the Premier League kicks off, Newcastle home to Stoke at St James Park today behind closed doors, with a 1pm kick-off.

The starting Newcastle team v Stoke, kick-off at 1pm, is:

Darlow, Yedlin Fernandez, Hayden, Manquillo, Barlaser, Sean Longstaff, Murphy, Almiron, Saint-Maximin, Carroll

Subs

Gillespie, Atsu, Saivet, Joelinton, Muto

Also, listed below is a summer timetable, showing important dates and moments to note:

Hopefully in the days and weeks to come, we will be adding in a few credible new signings…

Friday 3 July – New third choice keeper Mark Gillespie signs on a free transfer

Sunday 26 July – Newcastle end season with 3-1 defeat to Liverpool, ending the season with 4 wins in final 20 games

Monday 27 July – Summer transfer window opens

Thursday 30 JulySaudi PIF release statement saying pulling out of Newcastle United takeover.

Friday 14 August – Premier League / Richard Masters finally respond with public letter on NUFC takeover.

Friday 21 August – Steve Bruce says that Saivet, Lazaar and Aarons are on transfer list (not exactly news as this has been case for years!)

Saturday 22 AugustMatty Longstaff signs new two year contract.

Monday 24 August – Jeff Hendrick signs on a free.

Tuesday 25 August (2pm) – Newcastle win 3-0 in friendly against Crewe at training camp base near York

Wednesday 26 August – The club refuse to comment on the absence so far of Joelinton and Muto in pre-season.

Friday 28 August – First set of live TV Premier League choices announced, not a single NUFC game chosen.

Saturday 29 August (1pm) – Friendly win over Barnsley at NUFC training ground, United triumph 2-1.

Tuesday 1 September (1pm) – Friendly v Middlesbrough sees 5-1 defeat at Boro training ground

Thursday 3 September – Joelinton and Muto train for the first time in pre-season with the squad.

Saturday 5 September – Newcastle v Stoke, final pre-season friendly, 3pm kick-off at St James Park.

Saturday 5 and Tuesday 8 September – First international ‘break’ of season, England play Iceland and Denmark

Saturday 12 September – (Premier League kick-off) West Ham (a)

Tues/Wed 15/16 September – League Cup second round

Saturday 19 September – Brighton (h)

Tues/Wed 22/23 September – League Cup third round

Saturday 26 September – Spurs (a)

Tues/Wed 29/30 September – League Cup fourth round

Saturday 3 October – Burnley(H) and the first chance of some fans potentially being let into St James Park, news awaited.

Monday 5 October – Summer transfer window closes

Thursday 8 October, Sunday 11 October and Wednesday 14 October – Second international ‘break’ of season, England play Wales, Belgium and Denmark

Saturday 17 October –  Man Utd (h)

Saturday 24 October – Wolves (a)

Saturday 31 October – Everton (h)

Saturday 7 November – Southampton (a)

Sunday 15 November and Wednesday 18 November – Third international ‘break’ of season, England play Belgium and Iceland.

Share

If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks