Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Newcastle United Player of the Year announced – Right choice?

9 months ago

In an official announcement, the club have announced the Newcastle United Player of the Year for the 2019/20 season.

A very long season but maybe a quick decision on who should get the accolade?

The club don’t give any details on who decides the identity of the Newcastle United Player of the Year but presumably it must be the first team squad who vote?

For me, there were three candidates for the award, a trio who were head and shoulders above the rest in this campaign.

My three contenders would have been Allan Saint-Maximin, Federico Fernandez and Martin Dubravka.

ASM has been our only real inspiration going forward, Fernandez by far the best defender, whilst Martin Dubravka…has basically kept Newcastle up this season.

The keeper the one unsurprisingly named as the 2019/20 winner.

I was interested / amused to see the official club announcement declare: ‘The popular stopper has again been an ever-present in the Premier League this season, recording 11 clean sheets and making 137 saves – the most of any ‘keeper in the top flight by a comfortable distance.’

Sums up this season, Newcastle’s goalkeeper having to make far more saves than any other Premier League keeper.

Mike Ashley was happy to push last season’s winner out of the door, Salomon Rondon directly involved in 18 PL goals – scoring 11 and seven assists.

Hopefully the club’s owner doesn’t do the same with this season’s winner…

Newcastle United official announcement:

Martin Dúbravka has been named as Newcastle United’s official Player of the Year for the 2019/20 campaign.

The popular stopper has again been an ever-present in the Premier League this season, recording 11 clean sheets and making 137 saves – the most of any ‘keeper in the top flight by a comfortable distance.

Dúbravka has played 88 times for Newcastle following his arrival – initially on loan – from Sparta Prague in 2018.

Since making his debut in a man-of-the-match display against Manchester United two weeks after joining, the Slovakian hasn’t missed a game for the Magpies in the Premier League.

“It is a big honour and privilege, because obviously I know the history and what kind of players play for this massive club and achieve this kind of trophy, so I couldn’t be more happy and more delighted,” Dúbravka told UNITED, the club’s official matchday programme.

“It’s a big thing for me. It’s always nice to have this kind of memory, so really I’m so happy.

“I’m pleased that I could be on the pitch in every game, that I was fit and I was able to be there, trying to help my teammates, and I really hope that we can achieve in the next season a higher place in the league, because I think we have the potential. That’s the plan.”

The 31-year-old takes over the accolade from Salomón Rondón, and becomes the sixth different ‘keeper to win the award since its inception in 1975/76 – following in the footsteps of the likes of Shay Given, Tim Krul and Rob Elliot.

The full list of winners is:

1975/76 Alan Gowling
1976/77 Micky Burns
1977/78 Irving Nattrass
1978/79 Peter Withe
1979/80 Alan Shoulder
1980/81 Kevin Carr
1981/82 Mick Martin
1982/83 Kevin Keegan
1983/84 Kevin Keegan
1984/85 Peter Beardsley
1985/86 Peter Beardsley
1986/87 Paul Goddard
1987/88 Paul Gascoigne
1988/89 John Hendrie
1989/90 Mick Quinn
1990/91 John Burridge
1991/92 Gavin Peacock
1992/93 Lee Clark
1993/94 Andy Cole
1994/95 Barry Venison
1995/96 Darren Peacock
1996/97 Steve Watson
1997/98 David Batty
1998/99 Alan Shearer
1999/00 Alan Shearer
2000/01 Shay Given
2001/02 Nobby Solano
2002/03 Alan Shearer
2003/04 Olivier Bernard
2004/05 Shay Given
2005/06 Shay Given
2006/07 Nicky Butt
2007/08 Habib Beye
2008/09 Sébastien Bassong
2009/10 José Enrique
2010/11 Fabricio Coloccini
2011/12 Tim Krul
2012/13 Davide Santon
2013/14 Mike Williamson
2014/15 Daryl Janmaat
2015/16 Rob Elliot
2016/17 Ciaran Clark
2017/18 Jamaal Lascelles
2018/19 Salomón Rondón
2019/20 Martin Dúbravka


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks