Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Steve Bruce start to season compared to other 12 Mike Ashley seasons at Newcastle United

12 months ago

Steve Bruce has seen a big boost to his and the team’s fortunes, with consecutive wins for the first time at Newcastle under the head coach.

With now a record of four wins, three draws and five defeats,  NUFC now have 15 points going into the international break.

So how does that 15 points total compare when put against all of the other seasons under Mike Ashley?

It is the 8th best of 13, although two of the higher ones (second and third top) came after Ashley had relegated the club.

No surprises that the very top total was the 25 points in 2011/12 under Alan Pardew, NUFC going on to finish fifth that season.

Worth pointing out though that most of Pardew’s players were inherited from Chris Hughton who did a superb job. He picked up 17 point in the first 12 games of 2010/11 after being promoted and getting almost no money to spend. The 10th and 11th matches of that PL season saw NUFC beat Sunderland 5-1 and then go and win 1-0 at Arsenal – however, only a month and five games (two draws and three defeats) later, Mike Ashley disgracefully sacked Chris Hughton despite Newcastle safely in mid-table.

In terms of best ever Premier League starts, in 1995/96, Kevin Keegan’s team accumulated 31 points in the first 12 games, 10 wins and just one defeat at Southampton, as well as a draw at Spurs.

Worth pointing out as well that this start under Steve Bruce sees him with the most expensively assembled Newcastle United team there has ever been.

The 13 seasons under Mike Ashley – How Newcastle United have performed over first 12 games of the season:

2011/12: Alan Pardew

25 points (scored 18 and conceded 11)

2016/17: Rafa Benitez (Championship)

25 points (scored 15 and conceded 11)

2009/10: Chris Hughton (Championship)

23 points (scored 18 and conceded 6)

2013/14: Alan Pardew

20 points (scored 17 and conceded 17)

2014/15: Alan Pardew

19 points (scored 14 and conceded 15)

2007/08: Sam Allardyce

18 points (scored 19 and conceded 18)

2010/11: Chris Hughton

17 points (scored 21 and conceded 16)

2019/20: Steve Bruce

15 points (scored 11 and conceded 18)

2017/18: Rafa Benitez

14 points (scored 11 and conceded 14)

2012/13: Alan Pardew

14 points (scored 13 and conceded 17)

2008/09: Kevin Keegan, Chris Hughton and Joe Kinnear

12 points (scored 15 and conceded 20)

2015/16: Steve McClaren

10 points (scored 13 and conceded 22)

2018/19: Rafa Benitez

9 points (scored 9 and conceded 15)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks