Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Premier League confirm official Newcastle United Squad – Includes 11 ‘Homegrown’

1 year ago

The Premier League have formally confirmed the official Newcastle United Squad for this season.

Monday saw almost all of the transfer windows close that had remained open beyond the English Premier League  and Championship.

The senior Newcastle United squad consists of 11 ‘homegrown’ players and 14 others.

Each squad contains no more than 17 players who do not fulfil the “Home Grown Player” (HGP) criteria and so NUFC are well within that – the rest of the squad, up to a total of 25 players, must be “Home Grown”.

(A “Home-Grown Player” means a player who, irrespective of nationality or age, has been registered with any club affiliated to The Football Association or the Football Association of Wales for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons, or 36 months, before his 21st birthday – or the end of the season during which he turns 21).

Newcastle’s 11 homegrown players are:

Andy Carroll, Ciaran Clark, Karl Darlow, Paul Dummett, Rob Elliot, Dwight Gayle, Isaac Hayden, Jamaal Lascelles, Sean Longstaff, Matt Ritchie and Jonjo Shelvey.

There is also an additional list of Newcastle United’s registered Under-21 players who are eligible over and above the squad limit of 25 players. There are 37 of these listed, including Matty Longstaff who made his first appearance for the first team in the League Cup defeat to Leicester last Wednesday.

(Rules on U21 players – Under-21 players are eligible over and above the limit of 25 players per squad. For the 2019/20 campaign Under-21 players will have been born on or after 1 January 1998.)

The official Premier League site confirms the following 25 man Newcastle United Squad (*Home grown):

Almiron Rejala, Miguel Angel
Apolinario De Lira, Joelinton Cassio
Carroll, Andrew Thomas*
Clark, Ciaran*
Darlow, Karl*
Dubravka, Martin
Dummett, Paul*
Elliot, Robert*
Fernandez, Federico
Gayle, Dwight Devon Boyd*
Hayden, Isaac Scot*
Ki, Sung Yueng
Kraft, Emil Henry Kristoffer
Lascelles, Jamaal*
Lejeune, Florian Gregoire Claude
Longstaff, Sean David*
Manquillo Gaitan, Javier
Muto, Yoshinori
Ritchie, Matthew Thomas*
Saint Maximin, Allan Irenee
Schar, Fabian Lukas
Shelvey, Jonjo*
Twasam, Christian Atsu
Willems, Jetro Danovich Sexer
Yedlin, Deandre

Newcastle United U21 players (Contracts and Scholars)

Allan, Thomas David
Anderson, Elliot Junior
Bailey, Owen John Edward
Barrett, Ryan Thomas
Brannen, Lewis Paul
Brown, William George
Carlyon, Nathan Matthew
Cass, Lewis Graham
De Bolle, Lucas
Ebanks, Tai Graham
Fernandez Satue, Victor
Francillette, Ludwig Georges
Gamblin, Lucas Ralph
Gilchrist, Josh Gordon
Harker, Nathan
Harrison, Joshua
Langley, Daniel David
Longelo-Mbule, Rosaire
Longstaff, Matthew Ben
Marshall, Oliver Joshua
McEntee, Oisin Michael
Midgley, Thomas Jack
Oliver, Joe Alexander
Reed, Kain
Rounsfell, George David Alan
Sangare, Mohammed
Scott, Joshua
Sorensen, Elias Fritjof Graenge
Stephenson, Dylan Jay
Swailes, Jude Christopher
Toure, Fode Yannick
Turner, Jake Edward
Walters, Oliver Reece
Watts, Kelland John William James
White, Joe Peter
Wilson, Adam Ayiro
Young, Jack


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks