Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Newcastle United Official Announcement – The 25 man Premier League squad revealed

1 year ago

A Newcastle United Official Announcement has seen the 25 man Premier League squad revealed.

With 30 senior players and only 25 places, there were some that were always going to be left disappointed.

Below are the 25 who have been named.

At the same time, the club have confirmed the squad numbers.

As for those that haven’t been included, Murphy and Woodman had already gone out on loan, which has then meant it was Jack Colback, Achraf Lazaar, Rolando Aarons, Henri Saivet and Jamie Sterry who have been left out today.

All five will need to find new clubs, either to buy or loan them, or else it will be January before they can be considered once again to be  included in Newcastle’s squad, when the next transfer window comes around.

Newcastle United Official Announcement:

Newcastle United head coach Steve Bruce has named his 25-man squad for the 2019/20 Premier League campaign.

And the Magpies have also confirmed their squad numbers for the coming season, with new signing Andy Carroll taking the number seven shirt.

Joelinton will wear number nine, Allan Saint-Maximin number ten, Jetro Willems number 15 and Emil Krafth number 17. Dwight Gayle, who was on loan with West Bromwich Albion last season, takes the number 12 shirt. Matty Longstaff has been handed squad number 43 with his older brother, Sean, keeping the number 36.

Missing out on the 25-man squad are Jack Colback, Achraf Lazaar, Rolando Aarons, Henri Saivet and Jamie Sterry, while Jacob Murphy and Freddie Woodman have joined Sheffield Wednesday and Swansea City respectively on loan.

Bruce said:

“All of the players have worked extremely hard since I arrived at the club and they deserve enormous credit for that.

“Unfortunately, the rules dictate that I’ve got to let five of them down, who can’t get a squad number. It’s one of the hard parts of the job but it’s a decision I have to make.

“The season starts for us in just a couple of days and we’ll be doing everything we can to ensure the squad is prepared and ready to go.”

Newcastle United’s 25-man squad is:

1 Martin Dúbravka
2 Ciaran Clark (homegrown)
3 Paul Dummett (homegrown)
4 Ki Sung-yueng
5 Fabian Schär
6 Jamaal Lascelles (homegrown)
7 Andy Carroll (homegrown)
8 Jonjo Shelvey (homegrown)
9 Joelinton
10 Allan Saint-Maximin
11 Matt Ritchie (homegrown)
12 Dwight Gayle (homegrown)
13 Yoshinori Muto
14 Isaac Hayden (homegrown)
15 Jetro Willems
17 Emil Krafth
18 Federico Fernández
19 Javier Manquillo
20 Florian Lejeune
21 Rob Elliot (homegrown)
22 DeAndre Yedlin
24 Miguel Almirón
26 Karl Darlow (homegrown)
30 Christian Atsu
36 Sean Longstaff (homegrown)

In addition, Matty Longstaff, who is under the age of 21 and as such does not need to be named in the 25-man squad, will wear number 43.


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks