Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Official 2018/19 Newcastle United player of the year announced

2 years ago

Salomon Rondon has been named Official 2018/19 Newcastle United player of the year.

The club revealing the award on Thursday morning.

The striker follows Ciaran Clark and Jamaal Lascelles in winning the award in the three full seasons Rafa Benitez has been at the club.

The full list of previous winners named below.

No information as to how the selection is made but in their official statement, Newcastle United point out that Salomon Rondon has been directly involved (scoring or assisting) in 47% of NUFC’s Premier League goals.

Many Newcastle fans will find it ironic/amusing, that the club are shouting out how good and influential Rondon has been, yet Mike Ashley seemingly has zero intention in trying to sign him permanently.

Only at Newcastle United.

Newcastle United announcement:

‘Salomón Rondón has been named as Newcastle United’s official Player of the Year for the 2018/19 campaign.

The Venezuelan frontman joined the Magpies on loan from West Bromwich Albion at the start of the season, and has since found the net 11 times in 32 appearances.

In the Premier League alone, Rondón has been involved in 47 per cent of United’s goals, having contributed eight assists in addition to his ten top-flight strikes.

He takes over the gong from skipper Jamaal Lascelles, and becomes the first forward to win the award since Alan Shearer in the 2002/03 campaign.

We’ve added Rondón’s name to the list of previous winners, which we’ve published in full below.

1975/76 Alan Gowling
1976/77 Micky Burns
1977/78 Irving Nattrass
1978/79 Peter Withe
1979/80 Alan Shoulder
1980/81 Kevin Carr
1981/82 Mick Martin
1982/83 Kevin Keegan
1983/84 Kevin Keegan
1984/85 Peter Beardsley
1985/86 Peter Beardsley
1986/87 Paul Goddard
1987/88 Paul Gascoigne
1988/89 John Hendrie
1989/90 Mick Quinn
1990/91 John Burridge
1991/92 Gavin Peacock
1992/93 Lee Clark
1993/94 Andy Cole
1994/95 Barry Venison
1995/96 Darren Peacock
1996/97 Steve Watson
1997/98 David Batty
1998/99 Alan Shearer
1999/00 Alan Shearer
2000/01 Shay Given
2001/02 Nobby Solano
2002/03 Alan Shearer
2003/04 Olivier Bernard
2004/05 Shay Given
2005/06 Shay Given
2006/07 Nicky Butt
2007/08 Habib Beye
2008/09 Sebastian Bassong
2009/10 José Enrique
2010/11 Fabricio Coloccini
2011/12 Tim Krul
2012/13 Davide Santon
2013/14 Mike Williamson
2014/15 Daryl Janmaat
2015/16 Rob Elliot
2016/17 Ciaran Clark
2017/18 Jamaal Lascelles
2018/19 Salomón Rondón


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks