Newsletter

Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!

News

Yoshinori Muto extends his Asian Cup stay as he helps Japan into last eight

1 year ago
Share

Yoshinori Muto has helped Japan reach the quarter-finals of the Asian Cup.

Making his third appearance of the finals, the Newcastle striker started the game on Monday and played for the first 92 minutes before being subbed late on.

Japan beating Saudi Arabia with the only goal of the game scored by Tomiyasu.

Muto was booked in the last 16 match, with a crowd of 6,832 watching on.

Japan now meet Vietnam on Thursday (24 January) at the Al Maktoum Stadium for a place in the semi-finals.

Rafa Benitez will at least be pleased Muto is getting time on the pitch.

Less impressed no doubt though with South Korea, who have now released Ki Sung-yeung from the tournament. The Newcastle midfielder reported to have aggravated a hamstring injury when training and trying to make a comeback, having being injured in their opening game of the tournament.

No indication yet of how long Ki will be out of action, whilst for Yoshnori Muto, if Japan are successful on Thursday against Vietnam, they would then face either Iran or China next Monday (28 January) for a place in the final on Friday 1 February.

Asian Cup matches/schedule for South Korea (Ki Sung-yeung) and Japan (Yoshinori Muto):

Monday 7 January

South Korea 1 Philippines 0

Wednesday 9 January

Japan 3 Turkmenistan 2

Friday 11 January

South Korea 1 Kyrgyzstan 0

Sunday 13 January

Japan 1 Oman 0

Wednesday 16 January

South Korea 2 China 0

Thursday 17 January

Japan 2 Ukbekisatan 1

Last 16 Matches:

Monday 21 January

Japan 1 Saudi Arabia 0

Tuesday 22 January

South Korea v Bahrain

Quarter Finals

Thursday 24 January 

Japan v Vietnam

Semi finals 28 and 29 January

Final is 1 February

Newcastle United upcoming matches:

Saturday 26 January 2019 (weekend of)

Newcastle v Watford (FA Cup)

Tuesday 29 January 2019 (BT Sport)

Newcastle v Man City (8pm)

Saturday 2 February 2019 (Sky Sports)

Tottenham v Newcastle (12.30pm)

Monday 11 February 2019 (Sky Sports)

Wolves v Newcastle (8pm)

Share

If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks