Newsletter

Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!

News

Premier League official statement on when next Newcastle United live TV matches will be announced

2 years ago
Share

There have been eight Newcastle United live TV matches so far, including the League Cup match at Forest.

Another four games have already also been moved for the purposes of live TV in January, these being the Premier League games against Man Utd (Home), Chelsea (Away) and Man City (Home), as well as the FA Cup game home to Blackburn – though that last one is only for overseas TV viewers.

Yesterday (Wednesday 12 December) was the scheduled date (see all scheduled dates for the release of live TV fixtures below) when Premier League and broadcasters were set to announce the Newcastle United live TV matches, as well as for the other 19 clubs,  that had been chosen for February 2019.

However, nothing appeared until this belated official message from the Premier League via one of their Twitter accounts.

Premier League Official announcement:

“With six Premier League clubs competing in the latter stages of European competitions this season.

“We will await the draw for the knockout rounds of the UEFA Champions League and Europa League before concluding our UK live broadcast selection process for matches in February.”

Liverpool, Tottenham, Man City and Man Utd have all qualified for the last 16 of Champions League, whilst Arsenal and Chelsea rare both through into the next stage of the Wuropa League before they play their final group matches later today.

The European draws take place at 11am on Monday (17 December) in Nyon, Switzerland.

So it will be sometime following Monday’s draw when we belatedly find out what is happening with these four matches under threat:

Saturday 2 February 2019

Tottenham v Newcastle (3pm)

Saturday 9 February 2019

Wolves v Newcastle (3pm)

Saturday 23 February 2019

Newcastle v Huddersfield (3pm)

Wednesday 27 February 2019

Newcastle v Burnley (7.45pm)

The game at Spurs is also an unknown at the minute in terms of venue, with still in the balance as to whether their new stadium will be ready at long last, or if they will still be at Wembley.

The NUFC PL schedule confirmed so far, until end of January 2019:

Saturday 15 December 2018

Huddersfield v Newcastle (3pm)

Saturday 22 December 2018

Newcastle v Fulham (3pm)

Wednesday 26 December 2018

Liverpool v Newcastle (3pm)

Saturday 29 December 2018

Watford v Newcastle (3pm)

Wednesday 2 January 2019 (Sky Sports)

Newcastle v Man Utd (8pm)

Saturday 5 January 2019 (Overseas Live TV – Not UK)

Newcastle v Blackburn (5.30pm)

Saturday 12 January 2019 (BT Sport)

Chelsea v Newcastle (5.30pm)

Saturday 19 January 2019

Newcastle v Cardiff (3pm)

Tuesday 29 January 2019 (BT Sport)

Newcastle v Man City (8pm)

These are the games that have been shown so far via live broadcast for NUFC this season:

Saturday 11 August

Newcastle 1 Tottenham 2

Saturday 18 August

Cardiff 0 Newcastle 0

Sunday 26 August

Newcastle 1 Chelsea 2

Wednesday 29 August

Nottingham Forest 3 Newcastle 1 (League Cup)

Saturday 1 September

Man City 2 Newcastle 1

Saturday 6 October 5.30pm

Man Utd 3 Newcastle United 2

Monday 26 November 2018 

Burnley 1 Newcastle 2

Sunday 9 December 2018 

Newcastle 1 Wolves 2

Premier League official announcement – 14 June 2018:

With the release of the 2018/19 Premier League fixtures, supporters can begin their planning for the season ahead.

Fans are reminded that throughout the season there will be alterations to the fixtures.

Match dates can change for a variety of reasons, including live TV broadcast selections and to accommodate matches in European and domestic cup competitions.

For this reason, Premier League fixtures are always advertised as being subject to change.

Below are the approximate dates for when the announcements on matches that have been selected for live TV broadcast will be made.

Period of matches (then planned approx date of announcement):

Aug/Sept     6 July

Oct/Nov       7 August

Dec/Jan       12 October

Feb                12 December

Mar              25 January

Apr                22 February

May              5 April

MW38          After MW (Match Week) 37

Share

If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks