Newcastle fans have now seen the second signing of the summer, Ki Sung-Yueng announced on Friday afternoon.

The free transfer following Martin Dubravka into the club.

Today sees the Newcastle squad back for pre-season and the clock really begins to tick down.

In only nine days time the squad flies off for the pre-season training camp in Ireland and the first pre-season friendly.

Ki Sung-Yueng won’t be on that plane as he gets extra time off due to World Cup participation, so will there be any new signings joining the current set of players?

Friday is the day scheduled for the release of live TV games for August and September, so another date to watch out for as you plan the season ahead.

Important dates this summer:

Thursday 17 May 2018

Premier League summer transfer window opened.

Friday 1 June 2018

Summer transfer window opened in Germany, France, Italy, and Spain.

Saturday 9 June 2018

International transfers can be processed as from this date (though transfers between two English clubs can already be processed). So for example, Newcastle could have announced the permanent signing of Martin Dubravka any time beforehand, but the paperwork would then be processed on this day (or after).

Thursday 14 June 2018

Premier League fixtures released at 9am.

Thursday 14 June 2018

Opening matches of World Cup take place in Russia.

Monday 18 June 2018

England 2 Tunisia 1

Sunday 24 June 

England 6 Panama 1

Thursday 28 June

England 0 Belgium 1

Monday 2 July 2018

Newcastle players report back for pre-season training.

Tuesday 3 July 2018

England v Colombia – Last 16 match of World Cup

Friday 6 July 2018

Premier League say this is the (approximate) date when they will reveal live TV games for August and September.

Wednesday 11 July 2018

Newcastle United squad fly off for pre-season training camp in Ireland.

Sunday 15 July 2018

World Cup final takes place.

Tuesday 17 July 2018

Friendly: St Patrick’s Athletic v Newcastle United – 7.45pm kick-off

Tuesday 24 July 2018

Friendly: Hull City v Newcastle United – 7.45pm kick-off

Saturday 28 July 2018

Friendly: Porto v Newcastle United – 7.30pm Kick-off

Wednesday 1 August

Friendly: Braga v Newcastle United – 7.30pm kick-off

Saturday 4 August 2018

Friendly: Newcastle United v Augsburg – 3pm kick-off

Tuesday 7 August 2018

Premier League say this is the (approximate) date when they will reveal live TV games for October and November.

Thursday 9 August 2018

Premier League summer transfer window closes at 5pm.

Saturday 11 August (weekend of) 2018

First set of Premier League matches kick-off.

Friday 31 August 2018

Summer transfer window closes in Germany, Spain, Italy, and France (so after 9 August, Premier League clubs can’t buy any players but those in other European countries, and elsewhere, could still buy Premier League players until their windows close).

Sunday 12 May 2019

Final Premier League matches (all 10 games kick-off at same time).