Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


According to FIFA Newcastle one of only two Premier League clubs with no players at 2018 World Cup

12 months ago

The 2018 World Cup finals kick off in eight days time.

It seems like another world when you look back at France 1998, Newcastle United had captain Alan Shearer leading his country at the World Cup finals, with NUFC players David Batty and Rob Lee also in the England team.

Even 2014 in Brazil, there was plenty of interest, with Tim Krul, Cheick Tiote, Mathieu Debuchy, Moussa Sissoko, Shola Ameobi, and loan striker Loic Remy all at the finals.

According to FIFA, Newcastle United have nobody this time at the 2018 World Cup finals in Russia.

When they announced the official squads after the 4 June deadline,  FIFA allocate players who were on loan last season as still affiliated to that club for the tournament.

So according to the governing body, Fulham have a single representative in striker Aleksandar Mitrovic, and Newcastle United have none.

No doubt we will all be looking out for Mitro but obviously he has no future at NUFC and could even be sold before the tournament.

Having players at the World Cup finals isn’t the be all and end all but it does give you some indication as to the general health/strength of your squad and the investment there has been in it.

Below are the players from each Premier League club as per the official FIFA lists, as compiled by The Mail.

The FIFA lists also don’t take into account players signed so far this summer, so for example Brighton are listed with only two but have also signed Nigeria’s Leon Balogun, who is on his way to Russia.

Manchester City (16) – Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Gabriel Jesus (Brazil), Fernandinho (Brazil), David Silva (Spain), Raheem Sterling (England), Vincent Kompany (Belgium), Bernardo Silva (Brazil), Nicolas Otamendi (Argentina), Danilo (Brazil), Benjamin Mendy (France), Ederson (Brazil), Fabian Delph (England), Ilkay Gundogan (Germany), Kyle Walker (England), John Stones (England), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium)

Chelsea (12) – Antonio Rudiger (Germany), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Willian (Brazil), Andreas Christensen (Denmark), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Victor Moses (Nigeria), Gary Cahill (England), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (England), Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain), Willy Caballero (Argentina), N’Golo Kante (France), Olivier Giroud (France)

Tottenham (12) – Toby Alderweireld (Belgium), Danny Rose (England), Son Heung-min (South Korea), Dele Alli (England), Davinson Sanchez (Colombia), Christian Eriksen (Denmark), Eric Dier (England), Mousa Dembele (Belgium), Kieran Trippier (England), Jan Vertonghen (Belgium), Hugo Lloris (France), Harry Kane (England)

Manchester United (12) – Nemanja Matic (Serbia), David De Gea (Spain), Ashley Young (England), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Paul Pogba (France), Jesse Lingard (England), Victor Lindelof (Sweden), Marcos Rojo (Argentina), Phil Jones (England), Marouane Fellaini (Belgium), Marcus Rashford (England), Fred (Brazil)

Leicester (8) – Harry Maguire (England), Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria), Jamie Vardy (England), Adrien Silva (Portugal), Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria), Shinji Okazaki (Japan), Yohan Benalouane (Tunisia)

Arsenal (8) – Alex Iwobi (Nigeria), Mohamed Elneny (Egypt), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Nacho Monreal (Spain), Danny Welbeck (England), Granit Xhaka (Switzerland), David Ospina (Colombia), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Switzerland)

Liverpool (7) – Roberto Firmino (Brazil), Dejan Lovren (Croatia), Simon Mignolet (Belgium), Trent Alexander-Arnold (England), Sadio Mane (Senegal), Mohamed Salah (Egypt), Jordan Henderson (England)

Southampton (4) – Jan Bednarek (Poland), Dusan Tadic (Serbia), Maya Yoshida (Japan), Cedric (Portugal)

West Ham (4) – Javier Hernandez (Mexico), Manuel Lanzini (Argentina), Joao Mario (Portugal), Cheikhou Kouyate (Senegal)

Everton (3) – Jordan Pickford (England), Gylfi Sigurdsson (Iceland), Idrissa Gueye (Senegal)

Huddersfield (3) – Jonas Lossl (Denmark), Aaron Mooy (Australia), Mathias Jorgensen (Denmark)

Brighton (2) – Jose Izquierdo (Colombia), Mathew Ryan (Australia)

Burnley (2) – Nick Pope (England), Johann Gudmundsson (Iceland)

Cardiff (2) – Marko Grujic (Serbia), Aron Gunnarsson (Iceland)

Wolves (2) – Alfred N’Diaye (Senegal), Romain Saiss (Morocco)

Crystal Palace (1) – Luka Milivojevic (Serbia)

Fulham (1) – Aleksandar Mitrovic (Serbia)

Watford (1) – Andre Carrillo (Peru)

Bournemouth (0)

Newcastle (0)

(If you haven’t read it yet, catch up with an excellent account of every past, present and future Newcastle player to have gone to World Cup finals, from 1930 right through to 2018 – Read it HERE)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2019 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks