Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Premier League Summer Transfer Window has now been open 8 hours and still no Newcastle signings…

1 year ago

We can now declare the 2018 Premier League Summer Transfer Window officially open.

The official Premier League website has even now belatedly confirmed all the details.

The window opening at one minute after midnight and has already being running for eight hours without a Newcastle signing…

It is open for 85 days and the 85th one is Thursday 9 August when it closes at 5pm.

Be prepared for lots of ‘fun’ and made up stories doing your heads in.

The official Premier League site also carries a regularly updated list of the transfers but so far it only lists those players who are definitely leaving PL clubs, with their clubs having already confirmed that they are leaving, most of them coming to the end of their contracts.

Players such as  Toure leaving Man City and Michael Carrick at Man Utd.

Jesus Gamez and Massadio Haidara will be leaving Newcastle this summer as their deals end next month – but no official confirmation by NUFC as yet.

One deal that is said to be progressing for Newcastle United despite the uncertainty with Rafa Benitez’ position, is Martin Dubravka.

Local north east media are reporting on Thursday morning that talks are ongoing for him to complete a £4m permanent move and sign a four year contract.

Domestic deals can be completed now but those from abroad, such as Dubravka, can be announced now BUT not officially completed with the paperwork going through until June (see the Q and A below)

Official Premier League site:

The Premier League’s summer transfer window will open at 00:01 on 17 May 2018, for domestic transfers, and 8 June for international transfers.

It will close at 17:00 BST on the Thursday before the start of the season.

Deals in and out so far:



Per Mertesacker (retired)

Brighton & Hove Albion


Uwe Huenemeier (SC Paderborn) Free

Steve Sidwell (released)



Dean Marney (released)

Scott Arfield (Rangers) Free

Huddersfield Town


Dean Whitehead (retired)

Manchester City


Pablo Maffeo (Stuttgart) Undisclosed

Yaya Toure (released)

Manchester United

Michael Carrick (retired)

City Hall Gifts -

SKY SPORTS did this mini Q and A earlier this week:

So clubs can sign players from May 17?

‘Yes. In fact, deals can be agreed before May 17, however, the paperwork cannot be processed until the window has officially opened.

That means domestic transfers can be completed from midnight on May 17, but transfers from abroad can only be finalised once the FIFA Transfer Matching System (TMS) opens at midnight on June 8.’

What about EFL clubs?

‘The EFL transfer window is already open.

It opened on Monday, May 7 for domestic transfers. Clubs involved in play-offs can sign players now – but cannot play them until their season is over.

The window closes at the same time as the Premier League, on August 9 at 5pm – five days after the new EFL season begins.’

What about loans?

‘EFL clubs will still be able to sign players on loan until August 31. They can also sign free agents up until the same date.’


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2019 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks