Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Premier League Manager of the Season winner announced

2 years ago

The Premier League Manager of the Season has been announced.

There were six nominations announced on 5 May (see below) with Newcastle United revealing that Rafa Benitez was one of those half dozen up for the award.

However, there could only be one winner and the awards were dished out at a ceremony on Tuesday night.

The winner had to be Pep Guardiola and it was.

In an ordinary year one of the other five candidates might have had a chance due to performing far better than anybody expected.

However, when a manager takes a team to 100 points and 106 goals, playing such brilliant football, it had to be Man City’s Guardiola.

Pep also won the overall Manager of the Season (AKA the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy).

So maybe next year for Rafa Benitez…

LMA Premier League Manager Of The Season is Pep Guardiola

LMA Championship Manager Of The Season is Nuno Espirito Santo of Wolves

LMA League 2 Manager Of The Season is John Coleman of Accrington Stanley

LMA League Manager Of The Season for League 1 is Paul Hurst of Shrewsbury Town

LMA Special Achievement Award goes to Neil Warnock.

Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy – The LMA Manager Of The Season is Pep Guardiola

The Mag – 5 May 2018:

Rafa Benitez has been nominated for the 2017/18 Premier League Manager of the Season award.

Six in total have been officially nominated.

Pep Guardiola is a no-brainer to be included, no matter how much money Man City have spent.

Reaching the Champions League final surely tipped it for Jurgen Klopp.

Then we have the other four ‘less obvious’ candidates.

Sean Dyche is set to end up seventh in the Premier League and had to be included.

Whilst maybe this announcement was waiting for Brighton to be mathematically safe.

Chris Hughton did that with a win last night against Man Utd, so he and Roy Hodgson join Rafa Benitez as a trio of nominations who have outperformed against the odds at the lower end of the table.

Newcastle United Official Announcement:

‘Rafa Benítez has been nominated for the Premier League’s Barclays Manager of the Season award.

The Newcastle boss is on a six-man shortlist for the award after guiding Newcastle to safety – and potentially a top-ten finish – in the top flight with largely the same squad that won the Sky Bet Championship title last season.

He is in esteemed company on the shortlist, which also includes Manchester City’s title-winning boss Pep Guardiola and Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp.

Burnley boss Sean Dyche is nominated after guiding Burnley to the brink of Europe while Roy Hodgson and former Magpies manager Chris Hughton have been recognised for leading their respective clubs, Crystal Palace and Brighton, to safety.’


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks