Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Club reveal official 2017/18 Newcastle United Player of the Year

3 years ago

The official Newcastle United Player of the Year for 2017/18 has now been announced.

The season concluded 10 days ago with a 3-0 win over Chelsea, ensuring a top half finish on 44 points.

No surprise to see who has won the accolade.

An official club announcement has revealed it is Jamaal Lascelles.

The Newcastle Captain has been in excellent form and just as importantly, his leadership qualities have also shone through.

The full list of previous official winners are also listed below.

No explanation by the club as to how the winner was selected and maybe I just have memory loss but I don’t recall any announcement last season, with Ciaran Clark listed below as the winner for the Championship season.

NUDSA (Newcastle United Disabled Supporters Association) always vote for a Newcastle United Player of the Year but for 2016/17 they selected Matt Ritchie.

Newcastle United Official Announcement:

‘Jamaal Lascelles has been named Newcastle United’s official Player of the Year for the 2017/18 campaign.

The 24-year-old caught the eye in the centre of defence to help the Magpies secure an impressive top-half finish in their first season back in the Premier League.

Lascelles made decisive contributions against both Swansea City and Stoke City in September, and United only mustered a single point during his six-week absence at the beginning of the winter.

He takes over the accolade from Ciaran Clark – the man whom he partnered in the heart of the backline during the Magpies’ Championship-winning campaign last time out.

We’ve added Lascelles’ name to the list of previous winners, which we’ve published in full below.

1975/76 Alan Gowling

1976/77 Micky Burns

1977/78 Irving Nattrass

1978/79 Peter Withe

1979/80 Alan Shoulder

1980/81 Kevin Carr

1981/82 Mick Martin

1982/83 Kevin Keegan

1983/84 Kevin Keegan

1984/85 Peter Beardsley

1985/86 Peter Beardsley

1986/87 Paul Goddard

1987/88 Paul Gascoigne

1988/89 John Hendrie

1989/90 Mick Quinn

1990/91 John Burridge

1991/92 Gavin Peacock

1992/93 Lee Clark

1993/94 Andy Cole

1994/95 Barry Venison

1995/96 Darren Peacock

1996/97 Steve Watson

1997/98 David Batty

1998/99 Alan Shearer

1999/00 Alan Shearer

2000/01 Shay Given

2001/02 Nobby Solano

2002/03 Alan Shearer

2003/04 Olivier Bernard

2004/05 Shay Given

2005/06 Shay Given

2006/07 Nicky Butt

2007/08 Habib Beye

2008/09 Sebastian Bassong

2009/10 José Enrique

2010/11 Fabricio Coloccini

2011/12 Tim Krul

2012/13 Davide Santon

2013/14 Mike Williamson

2014/15 Daryl Janmaat

2015/16 Rob Elliot

2016/17 Ciaran Clark

2017/18 Jamaal Lascelles


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks