Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


In 45 year history of PFA Team of the Year – On 16 occasions these Newcastle players have made the side

4 years ago

The PFA team of the year is an accolade all top players want.

Recognised by their fellow professionals as being the best in their position across the whole of the Premier League.

The latest PFA team of the year (see below) has just been named and this time the stars at Newcastle United have just missed out…

However, there have been a fair few down the years.

It first started in 1973/74 and Newcastle actually had a player voted into the very first PFA team of the year, a certain shy and retiring centre-forward called Malcolm Macdonald.

We then had to wait another 12 years for the next one, Chris Waddle the one to make it.

This is perhaps the most depressing era, when within four seasons Newcastle fans saw three brilliant local players (Waddle, Beardsley and Gazza) all make various PFA teams of the year, only to then move on because of the lack of ambition.

It was then six seasons after Gazza was included in 1988, for Newcastle to have another representative, a returning Peter Beardsley named once again.

Three of the ‘so close’ 1995/96 team made it – Lee, Ferdinand and Ginola.

In the Sir Bobby era, we had Shearer, Given and Kieron Dyer (maybe surprising for some but he was very good in that team) all honoured.

The Mike Ashley era has seen only player make it and that was Fabricio Coloccini in 2011/12.

In total, 16 times Newcastle players have been included in the top tier PFA team of the year, with Alan Shearer, Peter Beardsley, Shay Given, and (surprisingly) David Batty all making it in two different seasons.

In the seasons when Newcastle have been in the second tier, there have been another 15 players named down the years in that PFA team.

The excellent Peter Withe was named in both his Newcastle seasons, as was Kevin Keegan unsurprisingly.

Micky Quinn did it in 1989/90 when Newcastle lost out in the play-offs, whilst three Peacock, Clark and Bez) of Keegan’s promotion team were included in the promotion season.

The 2009/10 and 2016/17 promotion seasons have also seen Newcastle predictably well represented, with Carroll, Nolan, Coloccini and Enrique making it under Hughton, whilst last season it was Shelvey, Lascelles and Gayle from Rafa’s team.

If any Newcastle player makes the 46th Premier League/Top tier PFA team of the year in 2018/19, then it would be all but certain that the good times had really returned to St James Park, here’s hoping.

1973/74 Malcolm Macdonald

1978/79 (Second tier PFA team) Peter Withe

1979/80 (Second tier PFA team) Peter Withe

1982/83 (Second tier PFA team) Kevin Keegan

1983/84 (Second tier PFA team) Kevin Keegan

1984/85 Chris Waddle

1986/87 Peter Beardsley

1987/88 Paul Gascoigne

1989/90 (Second tier PFA team) Mick Quinn

1992/93 (Second tier PFA team) John Beresford, Lee Clark, Gavin Peacock

1993/94 Peter Beardsley

1995/96 Robert Lee, David Ginola, Les Ferdinand

1996/97 David Batty, Alan Shearer

1997/98 David Batty

2001/02 Shay Given

2002/03 Kieron Dyer, Alan Shearer

2005/06 Shay Given

2009/10 (Second tier PFA team) Fabricio Coloccini, Jose Enrique, Kevin Nolan, Andy Carroll

2011/12 Fabricio Coloccini

2016/17 (Second tier PFA team) Jamaal Lascelles, Jonjo Shelvey, Dwight Gayle

The 2017/18 PFA team of the year

David de Gea (Man Utd)

Kyle Walker (Tottenham)

Nicolás Otamendi (Man City)

Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham)

Marcos Alonso (Chelsea)

David Silva (Man City)

Christian Eriksen (Tottenham)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Sergio Agüero (Man City)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks