Matt Ritchie and Jamaal Lascelles will collect the North East player of the year award on Sunday.

Chosen by North East Football Writers Association members, the Newcastle pair are joint winners after their efforts last season in returning NUFC to the top tier.

They will be presented with the award on Sunday at the Ramside Hall Hotel in Durham.

Rafa Benitez will also receive an award at the ceremony.

A timely presentation after Rafa and these two players played such key roles in the win over Manchester United.

A point or better at Bournemouth and that will set the awards ceremony up nicely.

Newcastle United have published a list of the previous NUFC winners of the North East player of the year award

Kevin Keegan – 1983 and 1984

Chris Waddle – 1985

Peter Beardsley – 1986 and 1994

David McCreery and Neil McDonald – 1987

Mick Quinn – 1990

Lee Clark – 1993

Barry Venison – 1995

Les Ferdinand – 1996

Shay Given – 2002 and 2006

Alan Shearer – 2003

Fabricio Coloccini – 2011

Yohan Cabaye – 2013

Daryl Janmaat – 2015

Matt Ritchie and Jamaal Lascelles – 2018

  • Leazes.

    Unfortunately under the Ashley regime this means the imminent sale of Lascelles…..

    Under Ashley it’s a lose-lose situation, personally I would end the farce of a North East Player of the Year as there aren’t many clubs here…. and those that are don’t achieve anything but relegation and administration, so it a case of winning a prize for the least ugly duckling!

    Leave it to the ametuer and part time teams for goodness sake!

    • steve

      Based on what? Carroll and the ridiculous money aside who have we sold without the player forcing the move?

      • Leazes.

        The winner is usually sold, most recent Given Cabaye, Janmat…. its quite literally the poisoned chalice for us steve!

        A pointer that this is your financially convertible asset.