Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Journalists pick Newcastle duo for player of the year honour

4 years ago

Jamaal Lascelles has been passed fit to play against Leicester City tomorrow and celebrated the fact with news that he was the north east player of the year.

Well 50% of  player of the year anyway.

It was revealed that Lascelles and Matt Ritchie share the award, with the journalists of the north east not able to split them.

The trophy (trophies?) will be handed out at an awards ceremony in February, by which time we are hopefully also celebrating Premier League safety and a takeover…

My choice would have been Ciaran Clark for the award as I thought he was phenomenal last season but no arguments with this pair deserving recognition.

Great to see any Newcastle player being recognised for their achievements and hopefully there will be many more accolades in the months and years to come.

Newcastle United official announcement:

‘Jamaal Lascelles and Matt Ritchie are the joint winners of the North East Football Writers Association’s player of the year award.

The Newcastle United pair made a huge contribution to last season’s Sky Bet Championship title win and will share the trophy after more than 30 journalists in the region could not separate them.

They will receive the award at The North East Football Writers Association’s annual player of the year dinner at the Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf Club and Spa in Durham on Sunday, 11th February 2018.

Previous winners of the award include Alan Shearer, Kevin Keegan, Peter Beardsley, Chris Waddle and Shay Given.

The award has been shared twice before – in 1987, United duo David McCreery and Neil McDonald were joint winners while Sunderland’s Nyron Nosworthy and Dean Whitehead claimed it in 2007.’


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks