Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Asamoah Gyan praises Newcastle star for earning nomination

3 years ago

Former Sunderland striker Asamoah Gyan has praised one of Newcastle’s stars for contribution to club and country.

Record goalscorer for Ghana, Gyan has congratulated his countrymen Christian Atsu and Thomas Partey, who plays for Atletico Madrid.

The pair have both been nominated for the 2017 African Player of The Year award which will be announced in early January.

The Ghanaian pair are two of 30 nominations (see full list below).

Asamoah Gyan picks out Christian Atsu’s hard work and consistency for both Newcastle United and his national team.

Asamoah Gyan talking to Angel FM:

”I congratulate Christian Atsu and Thomas Partey because they have really worked hard.

”They have been able to fit themselves into the Black Stars team and their various (club) teams.

”Thomas Partey especially, has been in superb form this season, for both club and country.

“Partey has managed to score five goals in his last four games played for Ghana.

“He is a very good footballer and he has added goal scoring in his game, he scored in the champions league this week and won the man of the match award during the AFCON – that shows he has consistency, just as Christian Atsu does for Newcastle.”

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) released the list of 30 nominated players for the African Player of the Year this week, as well as the list for the African Player of the Year-based in Africa.

The winners will be decided by votes from head coaches and technical directors of the national associations affiliated to CAF, members of the CAF media committee, members of the technical and development committee and a panel of experts.

The two winners will be announced at the CAF Awards Gala scheduled for 4 January 2018 in Accra (Ghana).

In total five Premier League stars have been nominated, with Eric Bailly (Man Utd, Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Victor Moses (Chelsea), and Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), joining Atsu on the list.

However, no place for last year’s winner Riyad Mahrez of Leicester.

The full list of nominations:

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)

Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)

Christian Atsu (Ghana & Newcastle)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)

Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)

Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)

Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)

Christian Bassogog (Cameroon & Henan Jianye)

Yves Bissouma (Mali & Lille)

Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor)

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

Essam El Hadary (Egypt & Al Taawoun)

Junior Kabananga (DR Congo & Astana)

Fackson Kapumbu (Zambia & Zesco)

Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)

Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)

Youssef Msakni (Tunisia & Al Duhail)

Michael Olunga (Kenya & Girona)

Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon & Sevilla)

Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Mbwana Samata (Tanzania & Genk)

Jean Michel Seri (Cote d’Ivoire & Nice)

Percy Tau (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Lyon)

William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria & Bursaspor)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks