Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Moussa Sissoko and Florian Thauvin named in new France squad

4 years ago

Moussa Sissoko is a surprise selection for Didier Deschamps, as he picked his latest France squad for crucial World Cu qualifiers against Bulgaria and Belarus.

The former Newcastle waster was sidelined for most of last season by Mauricio Pochettino at Tottenham, leading to Deschamps enforcing his policy of leaving out players who aren’t playing regularly for their clubs.

Sissoko’s inclusion comes despite not being a stand out player for Spurs but injuries have helped him to be involved in all six Premier League matches so far, four as a starter and two off the bench.

As an attacking midfielder, worth noting that in the past two years four months, Moussa Sissoko has only scored one league goal.

In contrast, Florian Thauvin who has also been selected, has once again being in great form.

The former Newcastle winger has scored two goals and got two assists in the opening seven Ligue One matches for Marseille. This follows last season’s league haul of 15 goals and eight assists for Thauvin.

A disastrous and embarrassing 0-0 home draw against Luxembourg in their last game has led to concerns over qualification, with Sweden closing to within a point of France with two games left to play.

France squad to play Belarus and Bulgaria:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Steve Mandanda (Olympique de Marseille), Alphonse Areola (PSG)

Defenders: Djibril Sidibé (AS Monaco), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal), Lucas Digne (FC Barcelona), Samuel Umtiti (FC Barcelona), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid), Presnel Kimpembe (PSG), Christophe Jallet (OGC Nice), Layvin Kurzawa (PSG)

Midfielders: N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea), Blaise Matuidi (Juventus), Adrien Rabiot (PSG), Corentin Tolisso (Bayern Munich), Moussa Sissoko (Tottenham)

Attackers: Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Alexandre Lacazette (Arsenal), Florian Thauvin (Olympique de Marseille), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Thomas Lemar (AS Monaco), Dimitri Payet (Olympique de Marseille)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks