Newcastle United have been drawn alongside PSV Eindhoven, Liverpool and Sparta Prague in the group stages of the Premier League International Cup.

Dates and venues will be released soon for these matches.

The Premier League International Cup consists of 12 Premier League 2 teams and 12 U23 sides from elite Academies across Europe, which are split into six groups of four.

Teams competing in the PL International Cup will be made up of Under-23 players, aside from a maximum of three outfield players and the goalkeeper.

Sadly you won’t be able to dust your passport off for a European away game in Prague or Eindhoven, as all matches are played in England.

The six group winners and the two best runners-up qualify for the quarter-finals, while all knockout ties will be one-off matches.

Sunderland also feature in the competition, up against Leicester, Legia Warsaw and Hertha Berlin.

The winners in these past three years have been:

2014/15  – Manchester City

2015/16  – Villarreal

2016/17 – Porto

2017/18 PL International Cup Groups

Group A: Sparta Prague, Liverpool, Newcastle United, PSV Eindhoven

Group B: Hertha BSC, Legia Warsaw, Leicester City, Sunderland

Group C: Derby County, GNK Dinamo Zagreb, Everton, VfL Wolfsburg

Group D: Athletic Club Bilbao, Celtic FC, Manchester United, Swansea City

Group E: Arsenal, FC Bayern Munich, FC Porto, Reading

Group F: SL Benfica, Tottenham Hotspur, Villarreal CF, West Ham United