Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Comfortable mid-table for Rafa Benitez in list of longest serving Premier League Managers

4 years ago

With Frank de Boer announced as Crystal Palace boss on Tuesday, it now means there are 20 Premier League Managers in place.

However, how long has each of them held down the job at their current club.

No marks for guessing that de Boer is the new boy and Arsene Wenger (20 years 269 days) longest serving, after having successfully staved off the latest revolt by Arsenal fans after their team only won one trophy (third FA Cup in last four years) and finished fifth in the league.

Interesting to see that the two who come next after Wenger, are both young English managers who have been at their clubs for over four years.

Both Sean Dyche and Eddie Howe have done excellent jobs at their clubs and interesting to see whether ‘bigger’ clubs will take a chance of one or both of them if they continue to progress.

Despite only being appointed a year past March, Rafa Benitez is actually the 11th longest serving of the current 20 bosses, having been at Newcastle for 1 year and 108 days so far.

It would be nice to think we will have longevity with Rafa and he will prove to be the longest serving on this list one day…

Maybe interesting to note as well, that whilst the fashion is increasingly for Premier League Managers to be brought in from abroad, five of the seven longest serving were born in the UK.

The 20 Premier League Managers and how long they have been at their clubs (list compiled by the Star):

1 day – Frank de Boer (Crystal Palace)

4 days – Mauricio Pellegrino (Southampton)

31 days – Marco Silva (Watford)

124 days – Craig Shakespeare (Leicester)

175 days – Paul Clement (Swansea)

359 days – Antonio Conte (Chelsea)

361 days – Pep Guardiola (Man City)

1 year 13 days – Ronald Koeman (Everton)

1 year 31 days – Joe Mourinho (Man Utd)

1 year 108 days – Rafa Benitez (Newcastle United)

1 year 230 days – David Wagner (Huddersfield)

1 year 262 days – Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

2 years 18 days – Slaven Bilic (West Ham)

2 years 177 days – Tony Pulis (West Brom)

2 years 178 days – Chris Hughton (Brighton)

3 years 31 days – Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)

4 years 28 days – Mark Hughes (Stoke)

4 years 240 days – Sean Dyche (Burnley)

4 years 257 days – Eddie Howe (Bournemouth)

20 years 269 days – Arsene Wenger (Arsenal)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks