Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Rafa Benitez amazingly is only title winner not to be named Manager of The Year

5 years ago

The Manager of the Year awards have been announced.

The LMA (League Managers Association) giving the accolades out for each division.

No surprise to see Antonio Conte win both Premier League manager of the year and the overall award from the League Managers Association after guiding Chelsea to the Premier League title.

After a fairly average start of three wins a draw and two defeats in his first six matches, the next 32 produced an incredible 27 wins.

The Manager of the Year award (renamed the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy for its 25th edition), was presented to Conte at an awards night on Monday.

Paul Cook collected the League Two manager of the year prize after leading Portsmouth to their title win.

Sheffield United Manager Chris Wilder picked up the  the League One manager of the year award for helping the Blades to their title win.


Whilst Championship winner Rafa Benitez…watched Chris Hughton pick up the Championship manager of the year award for finishing runners-up to Newcastle.

Even the Manager who guided his team to a title win in the fifth tier picked up an award, with Lincoln manager Danny Cowley getting a special achievement award for taking his side to the FA Cup quarter-finals.

I suppose if it wasn’t going to be Rafa, then Chris Hughton isn’t a bad choice to be rewarded.

What do you think though?

Should Rafa Benitez have been automatically rewarded with Manager of the Year for the second tier after finishing top, or do Chris Hughton’s achievements outweigh that?


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks