Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Ciaran Clark knee injury ongoing as Murphy & Elliot named in international squad

5 years ago

Ciaran Clark missed Newcastle United’s final Championship game of the season due to injury, watching from the sidelines as the Magpies clinched the Championship title.

Now it has been announced that Clark’s knee injury means he will also miss a vital Republic of Ireland World Cup qualifier in a month’s time.

Martin O’Neill announced a 37 man squad on Monday morning, a squad which will meet up later this month in Dublin.

Ireland play friendlies against Mexico and Uruguay, before facing Austria at home in a World Cup group qualifier.

Mexico v Republic of Ireland – June 1

Republic of Ireland v Uruguay – June 4

Republic of Ireland v Austria – June 11

Martin O’Neill named Newcastle’s Daryl Murphy and Rob Elliot in the squad but then added that the knee injury would mean Ciaran Clark would be missing.

Hopefully this proves to be just a precaution, as player of the year Clark has proved to be an inspired signing by Rafa Benitez.

Along with Ritchie, Shelvey and Gayle, the central defender is one of a small group of Newcastle players who definitely look equipped to deal with the return to the Premier League.

Republic of Ireland Squad:


Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph (West Ham United)


Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby County), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Andy Boyle (Preston North End), John Egan (Brentford), Marc Wilson (West Bromwich Albion), Kevin Long, Stephen Ward (Burnley), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers)


Aiden McGeady (Everton), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Stephen Gleeson (Birmingham City), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), Darron Gibson (Sunderland), Liam Kelly (Reading), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen)


Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Daryl Murphy (Newcastle United), Shane Long (Southampton), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks