More than 650 guests were in attendance as the 2017 EFL Awards recognised players and managers across all three divisions of the EFL.

Sunday saw the awards handed out and Dwight Gayle missed out on the Championship player of the year award.

He was nominated along with Chris Wood of Leeds and Anthony Knockaert of Brighton, with the Seagulls’ winger chosen as the winner.

The Newcastle United number nine had to be content with being named in the EFL team of the season, with Brighton having both Knockaert and keeper David Stockdale named in that eleven.

It was Brighton player Steve Sidwell who picked up goal of the season, Newcastle having no goals selected amongst the nominations.

Another Championship club, Leeds United, also had two players in the EFL team of the season, Jansson and Wood selected.

The 2017 EFL Award winners

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season: Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Football Manager Team of the Season:

Goalkeeper: David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Defender: Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)

Defender: Pontus Jansson (Leeds United)

Defender: Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle)

Defender: Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town)

Midfielder: Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United)

Midfielder: Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)

Midfielder: Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Forward: Chris Wood (Leeds United)

Forward: Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)

Forward: Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)

Manager: Darren Ferguson (Doncaster Rovers)

Contribution to League Football: Barry Fry

Championship Family Club of the year winner: Blackburn Rovers

 Checkatrade Community Club of the Year: Portsmouth

LFE Apprentice of the Year – Championship: Ben Brereton (Nottingham Forest)

Mitre Goal of the Year: Steve Sidwell (Brighton & Hove Albion) v Bristol City

  • Wor Monga

    Total rubbish…the NUFC have scored more and had less scored against them than any other Championship side…they have a better goal difference than the leaders Brighton who have been awarded something like 8 more penalties, and we’ve had the most wins away from home than any other side since the league was re-formed yet Ritchie (only 2goals and 1 assist less than Knockaert) didn’t even get a mention in that team…

    …we’ve had a man suspended for 5 games on nothing more than word of mouth…had 2 men sent off wrongly that allowed the opposition to have 2 penalties which cost us an away defeat…we’ve lost our top goal scorer who looked certain to be heading for 30 goals at the time, for more than 8 games coupled with a penalty wrongly denied…and Rafa has kept things going without having the benefit of the clubs ever present ‘star’ players from last season…

    …I don’t expect any of these tin pot awards to be coming up here this year, but I’ll be happy just with the thought of leaving this second class league, and it’s second class officials behind…especially now that the second class mackem’s are dropping into it!!!

  • Lord

    No place for Shelvey then, consistently named as the best player in the league by most pundits (but, hey, what do they know eh?)

    Ludicrous that these awards are held so early – what if Shelvey’s 50 yarder had popped in at the weekend?

  • Rich Lawson

    B######s,why have awards like this just as the season gets really interesting,it’s like giving out the medals in athletics/horse racing 50yds from the finish ?