Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Newcastle United feature in list of greatest League Cup finals

5 years ago

The 10 greatest League Cup finals and Newcastle United feature.

It won’t take a genius to work out that they are talking about the one in 1976.

It could only happen to Newcastle, go a goal behind and then equalise – only for a born and bred Geordie to score a brilliant overhead kick winner…for the opposition.

Yes in the entire history of the competition, the Magpies have only ever got to one of the League Cup finals, shocking really.

When Alan Gowling scored that goal at Wembley, little did anybody know that this close defeat would be followed by another 24 years before Newcastle even scored again at Wembley (Robert Lee in the 2000 FA Cup semi-final v Chelsea).

Or that 41 years later Newcastle United would still be trophyless.

FourFourTwo have put together the list of top 10 greatest ever League Cup finals and Newcastle’s 1976 adventure makes it in at number nine, the full list is below and this is their write-up on that 2-1 win for Man City (you can also watch the highlights of that 1976 final below):

Manchester City 2 Newcastle United 1 

“A game that took on huge subsequent importance as both teams suffered trophy droughts.

“On its own merits, it will forever be remembered for Dennis Tueart’s overhead-kick winner.

“Teenage forward Peter Barnes put City ahead before Alan Gowling equalised 10 minutes from half-time, setting the stage for boyhood Toon fan Tueart to make Tony Book the first man to win the League Cup as player and manager.

“It was Man City’s last cup triumph until 2011, and the closest Newcastle have come – with honourable mentions for the 1998 and 1999 FA Cup final defeats – to their first pot since the 1955 FA Cup, unless you count the 1969 Inter-Cities Fairs Cup.”

FourFourTwo – The Top 10 League Cup finals ever:

1988 Luton 3 Arsenal 2

1967 QPR 3 West Brom 2

2005 Chelsea 3 Liverpool 2

2011 Birmingham 2 Arsenal 1

1977 Aston Villa 3 Everton 2

1969 Swindon 3 Arsenal 1

1979 Nottingham Forest 3 Southampton 2

2001 Birmingham 1 Liverpool 1 (Liverpool won on penalties)

1976 Manchester City 2 Newcastle United 1

2008 Spurs 2 Chelsea 1



If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks