Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Newcastle face Swansea, Bristol City and Southampton in Premier League Cup

5 years ago

A new format for the Premier League Cup has seen Newcastle pulled out of the hat to face Swansea, Bristol City and Southampton in the group stage.

The restructured competition will see 32 clubs split into eight groups of four teams. Each team in the group will play each other twice, home and away.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout stage of the competition in March 2017.

As with the Premier League 2 league, the competition will be contested between under 23 teams, with each side allowed three over-age outfield players and a goalkeeper born before January 1993.

The new format replaces the knockout form of the competition.

Premier League Cup group stage draw

Group A

Southampton, Newcastle United, Swansea City, Bristol City

Group B

Sunderland, Cardiff City, Blackburn Rovers, Burnley or Watford*

Group C

Manchester City, Colchester United, Derby County, Hull City

Group D

Everton, Norwich City, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Portsmouth or Barnsley*

Group E

Leicester City, Brighton & Hove Albion, West Ham United, Nottingham Forest

Group F

Middlesbrough, Charlton Athletic, Fulham, AFC Wimbledon

Group G

Liverpool, Huddersfield Town, West Bromwich Albion, Ipswich Town

Group H

Reading, Sheffield United, Stoke City, Birmingham City


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks