Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Newcastle United announce Diame squad number ahead of Huddersfield

5 years ago

When the Newcastle squad numbers were announced nine days ago, the big surprise was that Mohamed Diame hadn’t been allocated one, as yet.

Instead we were told that the midfielder’s number was ‘to be confirmed’.

Saturday morning has seen Diame at last get a squad number and allocated number 15, pretty essential if he is to play against Huddersfield

Safe to say that the numbers one to eleven weren’t necessarily Rafa Benitez’ first choice team.

However, the vast majority of Newcastle fans assume that Diame was due to be given the number seven once Moussa Sissoko had vacated the premises, only for his poisonous presence to still be ongoing.

Whether Diame will shift to number seven once Sissoko has gone…we will hopefully find out soon.

All of the squad numbers are listed below and major talking points included Dwight Gayle and not Aleksandar Mitrovic getting number nine.

Newcastle United squad numbers:

1 Tim Krul

2 Ciaran Clark

3 Paul Dummett

4 Jack Colback

5 Grant Hanley

6 Jamaal Lascelles

7 Moussa Sissoko

8 Vurnon Anita

9 Dwight Gayle

10 Siem de Jong

11 Matt Ritchie

12 Jonjo Shelvey

14 Isaac Hayden

15 Mohamed Diame

16 Rolando Aarons

17 Ayoze Perez

18 Chancel Mbemba

19 Massadio Haidara

20 Yoan Gouffran

21 Rob Elliot

22 Daryl Janmaat

23 Henri Saivet

24 Cheick Tiote

26 Karl Darlow

27 Jesus Gamez

28 Matz Sels

29 Emmanuel Riviere

32 Adam Armstrong

41 Freddie Woodman

42 Jamie Sterry

43 Kevin Mbabu

45 Aleksandar Mitrovic


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks