Newcastle United have now had all 23 opponents confirmed for the 2016/17 Championship season.

Barnsley defeating Millwall 3-1 at Wembley on Sunday afternoon, to claim the play-off place from Division One.

Newcastle United’s on-loan striker Ivan Toney came on for the last 10 minutes and helped Barnsley see out the win.

The 23 clubs sharing the Championship with Newcastle next season are now confirmed as:

Aston Villa          


Birmingham City              

Blackburn Rovers



Bristol City          

Burton Albion

Cardiff City         

Derby County


Huddersfield Town

Ipswich Town   

Leeds United         

Norwich City

Nottingham Forest         

Preston North End



Rotherham United         

Sheff Wed

Wigan Athletic  


To show the change in the last seven years, these are where the 23 clubs are now, who were the ones in the Championship in 2009/10 with Newcastle:

Premier League (6):

Crystal Palace Leicester, Middlesbrough, Swansea, Watford, West Brom

Championship (10):

Barnsley, Bristol City, Cardiff, Derby, Ipswich, Notts Forest, Preston, QPR, Reading, Sheff Wed

League One (5):

Coventry, Peterborough, Plymouth (if they beat Wimbledon in Monday’s play-off)Scunthorpe, Sheff Utd

League Two (2):

Blackpool, Doncaster

Then going back to the previous promotion season in 1992/93, these are the six clubs that were in the Championship both in that season and the coming 2016/17 season:

Barnsley, Birmingham, Brentford, Bristol City, Derby, Wolves