Former top referee says Norwich winner against Newcastle should have been disallowed
Top former referee Dermot Gallagher has stated that the Norwich winner on Saturday should have been chalked off.
Gallagher says that it was clearly handball by Jonny Howson in the lead up to the decisive goal by Martin Olsson and referee Mike Dean should have blown even before the ball hit the back of the net.
Dermot Gallagher also reviewed the handball that was given just before that winning goal.
However, on that occasion the one-time top ref thought Dean did call that one correctly, Norwich’s Gary O’Neil seen to move his arm and make contact, giving United a penalty and what looked a share of the points.
Dermot Gallagher talking to Sky Sports:
INCIDENT: In the 86th minute, Gary O’Neil handled in the box and referee Mike Dean pointed to the spot for a penalty which Aleksandar Mitrovic converted.
GALLAGHER’S VIEW: This was almost a panic reaction, he sees the ball there and his arm is up. He moves his arm through and I can understand why the referee gave that.
INCIDENT: In the build up to the Norwich winner, there was debate over whether Jonny Howson should have been pulled up for handball. The referee allowed play to continue.
VERDICT: Goal should be disallowed.
GALLAGHER’S VIEW: On Saturday I was watching this game live and I called handball straight away. I was sat next to another former referee who said no. The referee has got the best view and he thought no. That’s where we’re sat. We’re not sure. There needs to be a sit-down to say, ‘This is handball, this is not handball. This is why, this is why not.’
Small margins can decide games and whilst I do think the winning goal shouldn’t have stood, it is hard to claim Newcastle deserved anything with our dismal defending.
If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]