Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


When Newcastle players have troubled the PFA Player Of The Year awards

6 years ago

No doubt most of you will know that Sunday saw the latest PFA Player Of The Year prize awarded.

The outstanding Riyad Mahrez named by his fellow professionals as the stand out player of the season.

The Young PFA Player Of The Year was surely a similarly easy choice with Tottenham’s Dele Alli picking up that one.

So what about Newcastle United’s history with the awards?

The two prizes have been awarded since the 1973/74 season when Norman Hunter (Leeds) was the first ever senior winner and Kevin Beattie (Ipswich) the first in the younger category.

Below are listed all the Newcastle players who have picked up the awards, either when with United, or with different clubs either before or after their spell at St James Park.

Not surprisingly, the Newcastle United influence on the awards has come almost entirely during the Kevin Keegan and Sir Bobby Robson eras.

The exception to this was when Paul Gascoigne became the first ever Newcastle player to win the young player award in 1987/88, his last ever season at Newcastle…

He has been followed in later years by Andy Cole (1993/94), who must have surely been unlucky to miss out on the main award with his goalscoring antics that season.

Then later under Sir Bobby, we had Craig Bellamy (2001/02) and Jermaine Jenas (2002/03) deservedly picking up the Under 23 award.

The Kevin Keegan era produced two winners of the PFA Player Of The Year award. with Les Ferdinand in 1995/96 and Alan Shearer the following season – what a strikeforce!

Shearer had actually already won the main prize in 1994/95 for Blackburn.

Also from that Keegan team, David Ginola went on to win the award for Tottenham in 1998/99 after Kenny Dalglish had sold him on for a pittance.

Maybe one of the most amazing tales though surrounds Kevin Keegan.

Very surprising that he didn’t win it when at Liverpool, he then lifted the prize in 1981/82 after joining Southampton from Hamburg.

For younger fans, this sums up just how staggering it was at the time when Keegan joined Newcastle United in summer 1982.

Kevin Keegan was the reigning PFA Player of The Year and England Captain when he arrived at St James Park, Newcastle stuck in the second tier of English football and in a right mess.

What a signing – I remember it like it was yesterday…

PFA Player of The Year winners (who have played for Newcastle)

1979/80 Terry McDermott (Liverpool)

1981/82 Kevin Keegan (Southampton)

1983/84 Ian Rush (Liverpool)

1987/88 John Barnes (Liverpool)

1994/95 Alan Shearer (Blackburn)

1995/96 Les Ferdinand (Newcastle)

1996/97 Alan Shearer (Newcastle)

1998/99 David Ginola (Tottenham)

PFA Young Player of The Year winners who have played for NUFC (23 or under at the start of the season)

1982/83 Ian Rush (Liverpool)

1987/88 Paul Gascoigne (Newcastle)

1993/94 Andy Cole (Newcastle)

1997/98 Michael Owen (Liverpool)

2001/02 Craig Bellamy (Newcastle)

2002/03 Jermaine Jenas (Newcastle)

2003/04 Scott Parker (Charlton/Chelsea)

2009/10 James Milner (Aston Villa)


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks