Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Line-up announced: 5 changes to Newcastle team v Sheffield Wednesday

6 years ago

Steve McClaren has named his Newcastle team v Sheffield Wednesday, with five changes from the 11 who took on Watford.

Newcastle line up with:


Janmaat, Williamson, Lascelles, Mbemba,

Anita, Wijnaldum,

Thauvin, Sissoko, Obertan,

de Jong

Those missing from the team who started on Saturday are Coloccini, Cisse, Perez, Colback and Haidara – though Perez and the Captain are named as subs.

The club info is that the team is the usual 4-2-3-1 formation with de Jong as a lone forward, with Thauvin, Sissoko and Obertan supporting.

Then Vurnon Anita and Georginio Wijnaldum as the deeper midfield pair.

Whilst at the back, Mbemba appears to be playing at left-back with no natural options available in the absence of the injured Haidara and Dummett.

Whilst on the bench:

Elliot, Mbabu, Coloccini, Barlaser, Gouffran, Perez, Toney


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks