Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Steve McClaren & Alan Pardew: Who will blink first?

5 years ago

Only 32 days until the Premier League fires up once more, with now Alan Pardew and Steve McClaren the only two men left standing.

Yes, there have now been 49 players signed by 18 Premier League clubs, only Newcastle United and Crystal Palace yet to make a move.

(To feature like Sam, send in your articles for our website to [email protected] – all views those of the author etc etc)

However, since Alan Pardew walked out of the door in December, there has been a disparity of some £30m between the two clubs in the transfer market.

Arriving at Selhurst Park, the former Newcastle boss was instantly allowed to spend around £20m in the transfer window, sealing permanent deals for the likes of Wilfried Zaha, Pape Souare and Jordon Mutch.

On the other hand, Newcastle United have brought around £10m in from the departures of Davide Santon, Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa and Alan Pardew himself.

So in reality EVERY one of the other 19 Premier League clubs have strengthened whilst Mike Ashley has cashed in players and a manager, plus offloaded senior players such as Hatem Ben Arfa, Jonas Gutierrez and Ryan Taylor – the first two of the three being amongst the biggest wage earners at the club.

The Premier League summer transfer window officially opened on 1 July but clubs could sign players from the start of June, then have their registration transferred once July arrived.

Similarly, out of contract players generally move on 1 July, although deals could be confirmed before then.

The 49 Premier League signings so far:

Arsenal – Petr Cech (Chelsea)

Aston Villa – Micah Richards (Manchester City), Scott Sinclair (Manchester City)

Bournemouth – Tyrone Mings (Ipswich), Sylvain Distin (Everton), Christian Atsu (Chelsea), Artur Boruc (Southampton), Joshua King (Blackburn), Adam Federici (Reading)

Chelsea – Nathan (Atletico PR), Radamel Falcao (Monaco)

Crystal Palace

Everton – Gerard Deulofeu (Barcelona), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United)

Leicester – Shinji Okazaki (Mainz), Robert Huth (Stoke), Christian Fuchs (Schalke)

Liverpool – Roberto Firmino (Hoffenheim), Joe Gomez (Charlton), Adam Bogdan (Bolton), Danny Ings (Burnley), James Milner (Manchester City), Nathaniel Clyne (Southampton)

Manchester City – Enes Unal (Bursaspor)

Manchester United – Memphis Depay (PSV)

Newcastle United

Norwich – Youssouf Mulumbu (West Brom), Graham Dorrans (West Brom)

Southampton – Maarten Stekelenburg (Fulham), Cedric Soares (Sporting Lisbon), Juanmi (Malaga)

Stoke – Joselu (Hannover), Jakob Haugaard (Midtylland), Philipp Wollscheid (Bayer Leverkusen)

Sunderland – Sebastian Coates (Liverpool), Adam Matthews (Celtic)

Swansea – Kristoffer Nordfeldt (Heerenveen), Franck Tabanou (St Etienne), Andre Ayew (Marseille), Eder (Sporting Braga)

Tottenham – Kieran Trippier (Burnley), Kevin Wimmer (FC Koln)

Watford – Sebastian Prodl (Werder Bremen), Giedrius Arlauskis (Steaua), Matej Vydra (Udinese), Etienne Capoue (Tottenham), Jose Hoebas (AS Roma)

West Brom – James McLean (Wigan)

West Ham – Dimitri Payet (Marseille), Pedro Obiang (Sampdoria), Darren Randolph (Birmingham)

Steve McClaren attended Monday night’s NUFC Fans Forum  but was sadly unable to talk about his new signings, let’s hope by the time he attends the next one he won’t be able to stop talking…


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks