Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Newcastle players discover their squad numbers for new season

5 years ago

The Newcastle United players have today discovered their squad numbers for the coming season.

Fans as usual looking for clues as to what this could mean for the season ahead in terms of team selection.

The new boys haven’t shaken things up much.

Aleksandar Mitrovic has retained the number 45 shirt he wore at Anderlecht, so at least for now there was no need to relieve Papiss Cisse of the number 9 shirt.

Siem de Jong was here first and so keeps the number 10 shirt, so Gini Wijnaldum takes number 5 rather than the No.10 he wore at PSV.

Chancel Mbemba wore number 22 at Anderlecht but is apparently happy taking the number 18 for Newcastle, rather than taking a number in the ‘first 11’.

Personally, I hope Williamson and Anita’s positions in the first 11 numbers don’t signify anything, whilst it looks as though Paul Dummett may be seen as ahead of Massadio Haidara as he has been given Davide Santon’s vacated number 3 shirt.

It will be interestin to see which new signing is the most popular with fans getting names and numbers on the back:

The 2015/16 Squad Numbers

  1. Tim Krul
  2. Fabricio Coloccini
  3. Paul Dummett
  4. Jack Colback
  5. Georginio Wijnaldum
  6. Mike Williamson
  7. Moussa Sissoko
  8. Vurnon Anita
  9. Papiss Cisse
  10. Siem de Jong
  11. Yoan Gouffran
  12. Gabriel Obertan
  13. Jamaal Lascelles
  14. Rolando Aarons
  15. Ayoze Perez
  16. Chancel Mbemba
  17. Massadio Haidara
  18. Remy Cabella
  19. Rob Elliot
  20. Daryl Janmaat
  21. Haris Vuckic
  22. Cheick Tiote
  23. Karl Darlow
  24. Steven Taylor
  25. Emmanuel Riviere
  26. Mehdi Abeid
  27. Sylvain Marveaux
  28. Adam Armstrong
  29. Curtis Good
  30. Shane Ferguson
  31. Gael Bigirimana
  32. Lubomir Satka
  33. Olivier Kemen
  34. Freddie Woodman
  35. Aleksandar Mitrovic

If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2020 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks