Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Newcastle Announce Squad Numbers – Nobody Has 5! Who’s 9? Any Number For Hatem Ben Arfa?

7 years ago

Newcastle United have announced their squad numbers for the coming season.

Nobody has been allocated number 5 so fingers crossed that is being kept for a real quality signing to sort the defence.

Papiss Cisse has retained the number 9 which must be seen as a show of confidence in him and/or taking pressure off Emmanuel Riviere at No.29.

What about Hatem Ben Arfa though?

Rumours abounded that he wouldn’t get a squad number…but he has.

However, Siem De Jong has taken his No.10 shirt and HBA is relegated to No.26.

1 Tim Krul

2 Fabricio Coloccini

3 Davide Santon

4 Ryan Taylor

6 Mike Williamson

7 Moussa Sissoko

8 Vurnon Anita

9 Papiss Cisse

10 Siem de Jong

11 Yoan Gouffran

13 Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa

14 Jack Colback

15 Facundo Ferreyra

16 Rolando Aarons

17 Ayoze Perez

18 Jonas Gutierrez

19 Massadio Haidara

20 Remy Cabella

21 Rob Elliot

22 Daryl Janmaat

23 Haris Vuckic

24 Cheick Tiote

25 Gabriel Obertan

26 Hatem Ben Arfa

27 Steven Tayor

28 Sammy Ameobi

29 Emmanuel Riviere

30 Mehdi Abeid

31 Jak Alnwick

32 Adam Armstrong

33 Curtis Good

34 Remie Streete

35 Adam Campbell

36 Paul Dummett

37 Lubo Satka

38 Gael Bigirimana

39 Shane Ferguson

40 Olivier Kemen

41 Freddie Woodman

42 Kevin Mbabu


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks