Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Two Newcastle Legends (and Michael Owen) Inducted Into English Hall Of Fame

8 years ago

The National Football Museum have just announced that they are to induct nine more football legend into their English Hall Of Fame.

The none include Patrick Vieira who was a powerhouse for Arsenal, Northern Ireland star Jimmy McIlroy, Captain of the England Cerebal Palsy Team Matt Dimbylow, Sylvia Gore MBE who was a pioneer of the women’s game, Trevor Francis, Ray Wilkins and…Michael Owen.

The two really special names though are;

Newcastle United and England Captain Alan Shearer, the Premier League’s record goalscorer and

The last man to lead Newcastle United to the League Title with outstanding goalscoring exploits in 1927, the one and only Hughie Gallacher.

A prestigious ceremony will take place in October when all nine will be formally inducted into the English Hall of Fame.

There will also be two special awards; the first is to mark the 1914 centenary of World War One and will go to the Football Battalion, who were a group of fans and professional footballers who fought in the Battle of the Somme. The other special award goes to the 1880s legends known as the Preston North End Invincibles – who 125 years ago were the first team to win the World’s first football league competition, remaining unbeaten all season.

Alan Shearer;

“I’m so looking forward to attending the Hall of Fame awards this year.

“It is a special honour to be recognised alongside so many greats of the game’s history.

“I’m particularly pleased to be receiving my award in the same year as Newcastle legend Hughie Gallacher.”

The museum is well worth a visit the next time you are in the north west, visit to find out more about this national treasure.


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks