Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Referee Told Linesman That Ball Had Struck Gouffran

8 years ago

Controversy still rages about the Tiote goal v Man City and support for the injustice (Newcastle) side has come from an unusual source.

The Manchester Evening News has reported that TV cameras picked up what was said between referee Mike Jones and his linesman.

In the conversation the local Manchester paper reports that the linesman/referee’s assistant asked Jones whether the ball had struck Gouffran on the way into the net and it appeared Jones replied that it had indeed struck the Newcastle player.

Obviously that would indeed have made it an easy decision as Gouffran was clearly in an offside position, if it comes to a case of the ball striking him on its way into the net.

Of course, Gouffran was nowhere near touching the ball and so exactly was and wasn’t said is still shrouded in mystery.

Not much help to us or Tiote though!


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks