Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


Check If Your MP Has Signed Up Against Newcastle United Press Ban

8 years ago

Has your MP signed up to the Early Day Motion opposing Mike Ashley’s Newcastle United press ban?

Wansbeck Labour MP Ian Lavery was the primary sponsor of the motion and so far 22 of his parliamentary colleagues have joining him (full list of signatories at the bottom.

As well as condemning the Newcastle United press ban on the NCJ titles; The Sunday Sun, Chronicle and Journal, other clubs such as Crawley Town, Port Vale, Nottingham Forest and Rotherham United are also cited for withdrawing facilities from football reporters.

The Early Day Motion 844


That this house condemns the decision of Newcastle United FC Chairman, Mike Ashley, to withdraw all report facilities for journalists working on the Newcastle Chronicle, Newcastle Journal and Sunday Sun.

Notes that the denial of access to the St.James’ Park stadium press box, training ground and interviews with players and manager leaves reporters unable to report on events which are of great interest to the local community.

Further notes that this follows the temporary banning of a Daily Telegraph reporter by the same club last season and similar actions by Nottingham Forest, Port Vale, Crawley Town and Rotherham United.

Supports the National Union of Journalists in believing that journalists working for a free press in a  democratic society must be able to express themselves as they see fit within the law, without fear of petty and vindictive corporate sanctions.

Welcomes the broad support that supporters of the club have given to reporters trying to do their professional best in reporting the affairs of football clubs and therefore calls on the Premier League and Football Association to implement a code of conduct in respect of the treatment of working journalists.

The Primary Sponsor of the motion Ian Lavery (Wansbeck) has been joined by the following other local Labour MPs; Grahame Morris (Easington), Ian Mearns (Gateshead), Andy McDonald (Middlesbrough), Ronnie Campbell (Blyth) and  David Anderson (Blaydon).

Joining them are their Labour colleagues from around the country; Frank Dobson (Holborn), Jim Dobbin (Heywood), John Cryer (Leyton), David Crausby (Bolton), Jeremy Corbyn (Islington), Paul Blomfield (Sheffield), Chris Williamson (Derby), Gerry Sutcliffe (Bradford), Dennis Skinner (Bolsover), Jim Sheridan (Paisley),Yasmin Qureshi (Bolton), Alan Meale (Mansfield), Kelvin Hopkins (Luton), Paul Flynn (Newport)

Whilst the other three are; Liberal Democrat Bob Russell (Colchester), Plaid Cymru’s Jonathan Edwards (Carmarthen), Conservative Peter Bottomley (Worthing)

If you don’t see your MP listed then feel free to ask them to sign the motion, particularly disappointing if the other north east MPs don’t value a local free press.


If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2021 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks