Get your daily update and weekly newsletter by signing up today!


The Only Award That Matters For Newcastle United

10 years ago

The recently released shortlists for the PFA Player Of The Year and Young Player have stirred a fair few people up, especially in the NE1 area.

Robin van Persie, Wayne Rooney, David Silva, Sergio Aguero, Joe Hart, and Scott Parker are the ones up for the main award while Sergio Aguero,  Danny Welbeck, Kyle Walker, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Daniel Sturridge, and Gareth Bale are up for the Young Player which is for players who are under 23.

Don’t have a problem with the Young Player award as though I think Santon is a brilliant prospect we don’t really have anybody you could have put up for it, Tim Krul having just turned 24.

It is a surprise to see Newcastle United not feature anywhere in the nominations but I’m sure we’ll get over it!

The way I see it though is that maybe this sums up that what we have at Newcastle United with what is a strong group of players, rather than one outstanding individual, and I’m struggling to pick my NUFC player of the season with four or five fighting it out in my head.

Maybe if Cisse hadn’t arrived that could possibly have allowed Demba Ba to add another half dozen goals and be in contention but surely we are all just focused on the massive prize of Champions League football.

When Scott Parker is in there you have to treat it as a joke anyway, I saw one Spurs fan quoted and he said Parker wouldn’t even have been in his top six Spurs players!

The Professional Footballers’ Association Players’ Player of the Year  is an annual award given to the player who is adjudged to have been the best of the year in English football. The award has been presented since the 1973–74 season and the winner is chosen by a vote amongst the members of the players’ trade union, the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA).

The current holder is Gareth Bale of Tottenham Hotspur. The first winner of the award was Leeds United defender Norman Hunter. Only Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo have won the award on two occasions, only Shearer won his awards playing for two different teams – Blackburn and Newcastle.



If you would like to feature on The Mag, submit your article to [email protected]

Have your say

© 2022 The Mag. All Rights Reserved. Design & Build by Mediaworks