Newcastle United’s season will end on Sunday 7 May, all being well, but maybe worth noting these Championship play-offs just in case.

The EFL have released confirmed dates for the end of season lottery.

The semi-finals kick-off only six days after the end of the regular season and then the Wembley final ends things on Monday 29 May.

Hopefully Newcastle fans can sit back and enjoy watching the stresses and pressures of Huddersfield, Reading and Sheffield Wednesday fans, with Fulham currently just outside the top six.

One club who definitely should be fighting it out in the Championship play-offs is Leeds United – a victory by Newcastle over them this Friday would surely mean though the Magpies had one step in the Premier League.

The proposed 2016/17 Sky Bet Play-Off Semi-Final schedule is as follows:

Sky Bet Championship

Sat 13 May: Championship Semi-Final A first leg (5:30pm)

Sun 14 May: Championship Semi-Final B first leg (12:00pm)

Tues 16 May: Championship Semi-Final A second leg (7:45pm)

Wed 17 May: Championship Semi-Final B second leg (7:45pm)

Mon 29th May: Championship Play-Off Final (3:00pm)

Sky Bet League One

Thur 4 May: League One Semi-Finals A & B first legs (7:45pm)

Sun 7 May: League One Semi-Finals A & B second legs (6:30pm)

Sat 20 May: League One Play-Off Final (3:00pm)

Sky Bet League Two

Sun 14 May: League Two Semi-Finals A & B first legs (6:30pm)

Thurs 18 May: League Two Semi-Finals A & B second legs (7:45pm)

Sun 28 May: League Two Play-Off Final (3:00pm)