The cameras are loving Newcastle United this season, with Sky Sports choosing 18 Live TV games to be shown from the Championship.

That figure could rise to 19, though the final day selection when Newcastle play Barnsley, will only be decided at the last minute depending on which are the crucial games in the second tier.

However, no additional games will be moved with the rest of the schedule decided and all matches kicking off at noon on Sunday 7 May.

In the 18 matches selected so far (see full list below), there have been six at home and twelve away, Sky Sports obviously believing that there is more chance of an upset on the road.

Though Rafa’s players have confounded that by picking up 35 points at home but 43 away so far.

The results on TV have been – Played 14 Won 8 Drawn 2 Lost 4

As for how Newcastle have performed in terms of results in the 14 televised games so, as compared to the 24 not shown live:

Live TV Games: 24 points from 14 matches – Average 1.86 points per game

Not on TV: 54 points from 24 matches – Average 2.17 points per game

So Sky Sports have had their fair share of success in terms of getting the upsets they were no doubt looking for, with six of the 14 TV matches seeing Newcastle fail to win.

Defeats against the likes of Forest and Blackburn obviously ideal for them.

After these upcoming two home games, it is then a guaranteed four from five on the box, with potentially five from six.

So Newcastle’s eventual promotion fate will almost certainly be shown live, although it would be amusing in terms of upsetting Sky Sports, if the actual promotion happened at Ipswich in the only non-televised game.

A definite acceleration as the season has progressed as well, only four of the first 16 NUFC Championship matches were shown live and then 14 of the next 29 have been selected.

Newcastle United Live TV Games shown so far:

Friday 5 August Fulham 1 Newcastle 0

Saturday 27 August Newcastle 2 Brighton 0

Saturday 10 September Derby 0 Newcastle 2

Saturday 24 September Aston Villa 1 Newcastle 1

Sunday 20 November Leeds 0 Newcastle 2

Friday 2 December Forest 2 Newcastle 1

Wednesday 14 December Wigan 0 Newcastle 2

Monday 26 December Newcastle 0 Sheffield Wednesday 1

Monday 2 January Blackburn 1 Newcastle 0

Wednesday 1 February Newcastle 2 QPR 2

Saturday 11 February Wolves 0 Newcastle 1

Monday 20 February Newcastle 2 Aston Villa 0

Tuesday 28 February Brighton 1 Newcastle 2

Saturday 4 March Huddersfield 1 Newcastle 3

REMAINING NEWCASTLE MATCHES

Saturday 1 April – Newcastle v Wigan (3pm).

Wednesday 5 April – Newcastle v Burton (7.45pm)

Saturday 8 April – Sheffield Wednesday v Newcastle (5.30pm) SKY SPORTS

Friday 14 April – Newcastle v Leeds (7.45pm) SKY SPORTS

Monday 17 April – Ipswich v Newcastle (3pm)

Monday 24 April – Newcastle v Preston (7.45pm) SKY SPORTS

Friday 28 April  – Cardiff v Newcastle (7.45pm) SKY SPORTS

Sunday 7 May – Newcastle v Barnsley (12 noon)