Monday night saw Newcastle 2 Aston Villa 0 up against Arsenal’s visit to Sutton in the battle for TV viewers.

Promotion and relegation fighters on Sky Sports, up against the romance of the FA Cup and pie eating on BBC.

The cup match was always going to get the bigger audience being open to all but the Birmingham Mail has revealed that the TV audience for the game at St James Park was a respectable 427,000.

The 1-1 draw when Newcastle visited Villa Park earlier in the season attracted a TV audience of 524,000 but that was in the more attractive Saturday teatime slot.

The biggest TV audience for a Championship match so far this season, was when Newcastle won 2-0 at Leeds in a Sunday lunchtime kick-off.

The next two away matches at Brighton and Huddersfield are also to be shown live, whilst this week we are due to find out whether the Sheffield Wednesday away game will also be screened by Sky. There also is a chance the following weekend’s live games will also be announced then (Newcastle play Leeds home and Ipswich away).

REMAINING NEWCASTLE MATCHES

Saturday 25 February – Newcastle v Bristol City (3pm)

A public sale now to all fans.

Tuesday 28 February – Brighton v Newcastle (7.45pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tickets now sold out.

Saturday 4 March – Huddersfield v Newcastle (5.30pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tickets now sold out.

Tuesday 7 March – Reading v Newcastle (7.45pm)

Tickets on sale to all season ticket holders (zero loyalty points). Prices £20 adults, £13 for 65 and overs, £10 for 18 -24 years, £5 for Under 18s

Saturday 11 March – Newcastle v Fulham (3pm)

Ticket details to be confirmed (match will be rescheduled if Fulham beat Spurs in the FA Cup 5th round)

Saturday 18 March – Birmingham v Newcastle (3pm)

Ticket details to be confirmed.

Saturday 1 April – Newcastle v Wigan (3pm)

Ticket details to be confirmed.

Wednesday 5 April – Newcastle v Burton (7.45pm)

Ticket details to be confirmed.

Saturday 8 April – Sheffield Wednesday v Newcastle (3pm)

Match could be moved for Live TV.

Saturday 15 April – Newcastle v Leeds (3pm)

Monday 17 April – Ipswich v Newcastle (3pm)

Saturday 22 April – Newcastle v Preston (3pm)

Saturday 29 April  – Cardiff v Newcastle (3pm)

Sunday 7 May – Newcastle v Barnsley (12 noon)

Buying tickets from NUFC:

By phone in UK

0844 372 1892 (7p per minute plus network charge)

By phone from overseas

0044 870 444 1892

To buy online go HERE