Mohamed Diame and Henri Saivet crashed out of the African Cup of Nations on Saturday.

Senegal losing 5-4 on penalties after the game finished 0-0 after extra time.

Mane missed the crucial fifth penalty after Newcastle’s Saivet had scored the fourth for Senegal.

Not sure what it tells us but whilst Saivet started yesterday’s quarter-final, as well as the second group game and was a sub in the first, Mohamed Diame was only used in the third group match which was a dead rubber after Senegal had already won the first two and qualified for the quarter-finals.

Regardless, Diame is now free to head home to Newcastle and will be joined by either Mbemba or Atsu, as it is DR Congo v Ghana on Sunday.

The winners of that game then play their semi-final on Thursday.

Sat 28 January Senegal 0 Cameroon 0 – Cameroon win quarter-final 5-4 on penalties

Sun 29 January DR Congo v Ghana – Quarter-FInal

Thur 2 February Semi-final – Cameroon play winners of DR Congo v Ghana

Sat 4 February Third place play-off

Sun 5 February The Final

(Newcastle United’s current upcoming schedule below)

Wednesday 1 February – Newcastle v QPR (7.45pm) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 4 February – Newcastle v Derby (3pm)

Saturday 11 February – Wolves v Newcastle (5.30pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tuesday 14 February – Norwich v Newcastle (7.45pm)

Monday 20 February – Newcastle v Aston Villa (8pm) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 25 February – Newcastle v Bristol City (3pm)

Tuesday 28 February – Brighton v Newcastle (7.45pm) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 4 March – Huddersfield v Newcastle (5.30pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tuesday 7 March – Reading v Newcastle (7.45pm)

Saturday 11 March – Newcastle v Fulham (3pm)

Saturday 18 March – Birmingham v Newcastle (3pm)