On Thursday (12 January), Sky Sports announced another set of Live TV games, including the Huddersfield v Newcastle one on Saturday 4 March, date staying the same but kick-off changed to 5.30pm.

Even though the broadcaster didn’t spell it out at the time, it looked as though the matches they had announced, weren’t going to be the final ones they would be selecting up to the end of March.

Sure enough, two more Championship Live TV games have been announced today (Mon 16 Jan), although neither feature Newcastle.

Sky naming Birmingham v Leeds (Fri 3 March 7.45pm) and Leeds v Brighton (Sat 18 March 5.30pm).

We advised at the time (last Thursday) to be careful of taking for granted that Newcastle’s schedule to the end of March is now set in stone and that still holds true even after the games added today for other clubs.

The position is that Newcastle’s matches in February should all be OK, as Sky have announced their full schedule for that month BUT there are TV slots that are still free in March and Newcastle could very well be one of the clubs filling them.

The current NUFC match schedule up to the end of March is listed below but there are a few matches that could still end up being Live TV games.

These are Reading v Newcastle (currently Tues 7 March 7.45pm), Newcastle v Fulham (currently Sat 11 March 3pm) and Birmingham v Newcastle (currently Sat 18 March 3pm).

If the Reading game did happen to be picked, it is likely it would stay the same date/time.

The confirmed Newcastle matches (both live TV and non-TV games) up to the end of March are now as follows, with four live on TV:

Wednesday 18 January – FA Cup 3rd round replay Newcastle v Birmingham (7.45pm)

Saturday 21 January – Newcastle v Rotherham

Wednesday 1 February – Newcastle v QPR (7.45pm) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 4 February – Newcastle v Derby (3pm)

Saturday 11 February – Wolves v Newcastle (5.30pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tuesday 14 February – Norwich v Newcastle (7.45pm)

Monday 20 February – Newcastle v Aston Villa (8pm) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 25 February – Newcastle v Bristol City (3pm)

Saturday 4 March – Huddersfield v Newcastle (5.30pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tuesday 7 March – Reading v Newcastle (7.45pm)

Saturday 11 March – Newcastle v Fulham (3pm)

Saturday 18 March – Birmingham v Newcastle (3pm)

So no guarantee of more Newcastle matches ending up on TV before the end of March but at this moment in time, no guarantee they won’t be either. So bear in mind if looking to plan ahead.