Brighton v Newcastle has a new date.

Originally scheduled for Saturday 28 January but postponed due to Brighton (and now Newcastle) reaching the fourth round of the FA Cup.

The game will now be played on Tuesday 28 February with a 7.45pm kick-of.

Not surprisingly, Sky Sports have also confirmed it will be shown live.

HOWEVER, if either Brighton or Newcastle reach the Emirates FA Cup fifth round and be taken to a replay, the match will once again be postponed!

You couldn’t make it up…

Newcastle United official announcement:

‘Newcastle United’s Sky Bet Championship trip to Brighton and Hove Albion has been rescheduled for Tuesday 28th February (7.45pm kick-off).

The original fixture at the Amex Stadium was scheduled for Saturday 28th January but was postponed due to a clash with Emirates FA Cup fourth round ties.

The new fixture date will see Magpies supporters facing three away games in just seven days, with the long midweek journey to Brighton closely followed by trips to Huddersfield Town and Reading.

Should either Brighton or Newcastle reach the Emirates FA Cup fifth round and be taken to a replay, the league match at the Amex Stadium will again be rescheduled at much shorter notice.

For this reason, Newcastle United made a submission for alternative dates to be considered later in the season, however this was rejected by the EFL and Brighton and Hove Albion.’

The confirmed Newcastle matches (both live TV and non-TV games) up to the end of March are now as follows, with now five live on TV:

Saturday 21 January – Newcastle v Rotherham

Wednesday 1 February – Newcastle v QPR (7.45pm) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 4 February – Newcastle v Derby (3pm)

Saturday 11 February – Wolves v Newcastle (5.30pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tuesday 14 February – Norwich v Newcastle (7.45pm)

Monday 20 February – Newcastle v Aston Villa (8pm) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 25 February – Newcastle v Bristol City (3pm)

Tuesday 28 February – Brighton v Newcastle (7.45) – SKY SPORTS

Saturday 4 March – Huddersfield v Newcastle (5.30pm) – SKY SPORTS

Tuesday 7 March – Reading v Newcastle (7.45pm)

Saturday 11 March – Newcastle v Fulham (3pm)

Saturday 18 March – Birmingham v Newcastle (3pm)

(***Newcastle United have confirmed that they asked for dates later in the season to be considered but the EFL and Brighton rejected the idea)

(***With Sky Sports announcing live games in March on a piecemeal basis, there is no guarantee that more Newcastle matches won’t end up on live TV. So bear in mind if looking to plan ahead.)